It’s Time To get Things Started, It’s Time to Light the Lights

The time has come for me to put up or shut up.

About what you may ask? I have been thinking about it for quite a while and I smile when I see posts about it. But I have sat silently by to allow others to take the lead. I feel strongly enough to put my support behind this cause and dear readers, I ask YOU to do the same. It needs to be shouted from the roof tops people!

The Muppets Should Host the Oscars!

That’s right, I said it AND support it.

It is a well documented fact here on the Edmonton Tourist what a HUGE Muppet fan I am. Jim Henson being a tremendous influence in my life and all that …yadda yadda yadda…

So here is the moment you’ve all been waiting for…. without further adieu…. The Edmonton Tourist’s Top 11 reason the Muppets should host the Oscars! Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay (insert Kermit arms here)

  1. Bill Conti could get the opportunity to work with the orchestra penguins. This would be a major coo for his career. The Muppet Theme Song would be so fantastic as the opening number!
  2. Stadler and Waldorf could give Red Carpet commentary! How great would their brand of humor be talking about the best and worst dressed stars? Who are we kidding, they would only talk about the worst dress stars…
  3. Miss Piggy would finally get her hour in the sun as the hostess. Think of how she would love the glamor of the evening! The gowns the parties! This is right up her alley, a dream come true!
  4. Muppet ensembles singing the Oscar nominated songs. who can forget this: The Muppets make ALL music better!
  5. The opening bit in the Oscars where the host – in this case Kermit – stars in funny snippets of the Oscar nominated movies. Kermit would be perfect with the other Muppets causing mayhem behind him!
  6. Pepe the King Prawn could give updates from back stage getting the recognition he finally deserves!
  7. Sweetums could be in charge of security.
  8. Swedish Chef is perfect for Craft Services!
  9. Gonzo and his girls could hand out the trophies!
  10. Who better then Sam the Eagle for the “In Memoriam” Tribute
  11. Having the Muppets host the Oscars would make me smile and in my daughters words “Epic”

Please support the movement and cause! Follow them on Twitter @MuppetOscars and on facebook https://www.facebook.com/MuppetOscars. Shout it from the roof tops and from Sesame Street! I need to see this happen. In the words of the Great Waldorf,

Waldorf: Well, you gotta give them credit… they’re gonna keep on doing it till they get it right.

They will, the Muppets have been practicing their whole lives for a show of this proportion. Let’s work together Muppet Style.

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

4 thoughts on “It’s Time To get Things Started, It’s Time to Light the Lights

  1. As much as I would love to see a Muppets-hosted Oscars (truly, it would be epic), I’m glad Billy Crystal is coming back. He’s been the best and most consistent Oscar host of the past twenty years, hands down!

Keep the conversation going!

