If 1 is the Loneliest Number, then 11 must be Perfect

January 31, 2012.

One month into the new year, or as I like to think of it, 11 months left.  11 has a special hold on me.

It is the number of my favorite hockey player (Mark Messier).

2011 was the year of significant growth for me – growth people – not girth.

I often will only look at the clock at 11:11, or 1:11. Weird, but true.

If I have to make a decision and I see an 11, I know I am making the right decision.

I will take a time out of my life, sit and empty my mind for 11 minutes. 11 isn’t the number I set on my watch, but it tends to be the number of minutes I need to recharge.

With 11 being so significant to me, you would think it would not come to be such a surprise when I discovered my New Year’s resolution has reached 11.

31 days ago I had just come off my quest for 12 new things over Christmas Break. I did all kinds of new stuff. Some was great, and some stuff was not. The point being, I took risks and tried. I figured I could keep the momentum going and try one new thing a week for 2012. That would total 52 new things. Well…

I have got into the habit of giving things a try and not worrying about the outcome. This is a VERY new me. Gone is the girl from 2009 who would always say no. To see my list so far, click here.  The rate at which I try new things surprises me. I haven’t needed to set out to say, hmmm what will I do this week. It has been more like….hmmm what have I done this week? My favorite so far? Learning the Billy Joel tune on the piano and my new piercings.

I went to a tattoo shop for the first time in my life. I know…late to the party again. I was very nervous, and incredibly old compare to everyone else there. Again…not caring… I went into the back and told James I am a sissy. He laughed and then stabbed me. Done. Simple…yet painful. Did I cry? Did I carry on about how much it hurt? Did I moan and groan? No I did not! YAY ME! I took it like a big girl and walked out of there thinking, F*** it hurts! ChatterBox asked me if it hurt, I said yes. I am not going to lie, it did. But then we went about our day.

As I was watching the artists in their chairs, it got me thinking about getting a tattoo. Something symbolic to place on my wrist. Something inspirational that holds meaning for me. It makes me think of the Friends episode when Phoebe gets a dot on her arm. That may be all I could take. I am going to give this some serious consideration. I know a few people who went through a lot in their life and rewarded themselves with an inspiration tatt on their wrist. I will test it out with paint first. Being a face painter, I am quite capable of faking it first. Living with it for the day and looking at it to see how it fits. The funny thing is, I know exactly what I would get. I wouldn’t have to think for hours or ponder through millions of pictures. I know. I can visualize on my wrist already. Here is the kicker… I don’t think I have earned it yet. THAT alone concerns me. Why do I still, after all this time, STILL think like that?

Maybe, it’s the Universe’s way of saying “Wait until November” True enough…11 serves me well.

 

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

5 thoughts on “If 1 is the Loneliest Number, then 11 must be Perfect

  1. Ok, so we are already blogging at about the same time now. Weeeeiiirrrdddd. Love the post, and I too am looking at getting a tattoo. I want more than a dot tho. A lot more. I’m thinking late spring. New things are the BEST way to live! Enjoy!

  2. Tattoo the number 11 (wink wink)! Made in Canada (haha). I think I would love a made in Africa stamp under my foot! I have a mess on my shoulder which used to be an American Indian look of feathers and beads. It now gets mistaken for a grass hopper. Terrible. The other one i have- I love. It is an a tribal drawing of an eagle. It has meaning for me.
    Can’t wait for you to decide. Xx

  3. Pingback: It’s a Bird! It’s a Plane! It’s Barfy? « The Edmonton Tourist

Keep the conversation going!

