May the Forth Be with You: International Star Wars Day

When I was wee… okay not that wee, I was 10. Star Wars was showing at the Paramount Theatre in downtown Edmonton. My mom thought my brother and I would like to go see it. We had no idea what it was about. Since it was just released the line up was down the block, it hadn’t reached the around the block 4 miles yet – that would be a week later. It was still a sell out show. We couldn’t find enough seats together, so my brother (8) and I took turns sitting on mom’s lap while she napped through the movie. My brother and I were gobsmacked! We had never seen anything so amazing and we were Jedi fans from the start.

We saved all our money, bought the action figures – RIPPED them out of their package and played with them endlessly. This was the beginning of a very long and very geeky Star Wars love affair. The brother has since switched to the Dark Side and loves Star Trek more. I have room in my heart for both, but love Star Wars, Empire and Jedi the most. With honourable mention of Chris Pine – Holy Hotness Batman!

May 4th is International Star Wars Day – May the fourth be with you…get it? With that I am celebrating my geekness with my favorite Star Wars picture laughs.

This time next week I will be on the Star Tours ride in Disneyland riding it endlessly in an attempt to see every possible scenario – doubt it that will happen – but I will try! Happy Fourth!

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

8 thoughts on “May the Forth Be with You: International Star Wars Day

  1. Pingback: May the 4th be with You | merlinspielen

  2. LOVE this post! I think it is hilarious…isn’t that funny how something at a ‘wee’ age sticks with us so well? That was me and “The NeverEnding Story”….such a classic!

  3. Pingback: May the Fourth be with you -Pest Control Jedi | #PCO News - Bulwark Ext

  4. I too had a fair share of Star Wars action figures. My favorite was always Boba Fett. I still shed a little tear when I think of his too-quick exit from the story.

  5. Pingback: May the Fourth be with you « Turn the Page

  6. Pingback: May the 4th Be With You - Lez Get Real

Keep the conversation going!

