I felt the Earth move

I’m sitting here at the John Wayne Airport in California with 2 hours to kill. I don’t have my children with me, so I don’t need to worry about their comfort, nutrition or entertaining them. Even now that they are teens, I still have to answer, philosophize and listen to them. Both of them could easily fit the chatterbox name. But I still miss them.

This week has been an interesting trip! I’ve come here to celebrate my friend’s 40th birthday. There were 3 of us on this trip. First time in Disneyland for them, but obviously not my first rodeo! It was fun introducing them to new things. For me, it was the first time in a very long time that I did everything once, and I mean everything! There were a few things that we did twice, just because time allowed and quite frankly, the new ride in Radiator Springs was worth the price of admission. So I would have happily rode that attraction as many times as I could, sadly, I was limited to twice.

For the record, no I don’t get tired of Disneyland. The detail is too amazing for me to become bored of. I see and do new things every time I come. But this time, I experienced an earthquake and that was new and exciting, however, the aftershocks started to become annoying.

Tuesday night, I was in the shower when a 4.5 hit Yorba Linda, about 24 minutes from where I was. The entire room moved about 6″ to the side and back in place. It took a mi ute to register what had happened. For some of you, this is a common experience like tornados are for me. For me, this was cool! We were all excited and chatty about. The news talked about it and we let people at home know we were okay. My daughter asked if it was fun. You know what? It was! I don’t want to experience anything stronger, but it was a cool feeling.

The next morning we were in line for a ride, when it happened again, apparently it was another 4.5. I learned that is a big aftershock, so it likely was a cluster of earthquakes, shortly there after a 3.5 happened and that would be considered an aftershock. Safety devices in Disneyland have all rides shutting down automatically. They have to wait before they can move ahead with start up procedures. This ride took 45 minutes. First they had to evacuate every one, then do the start up. We waited for 1.5 hours for the park to resume regular operating. It was very interesting because people were talking about the previous night and were reminiscing about the bigger ones they had experienced. I learned that serious damage occurs at about 7. That was good to know, except Cal Tech was talking about this being the preparation for the “big” one. One local said he rather have earthquakes than tornados. I think it’s all a matter of what you grow up with. Both can be unnerving and totally inconvenient. I wasted 1.5 hours of ride time!!
I knew a teacher who was in LA for the big one. She was there on a field trip with her students. All I can say is YIKES! I have a new appreciation for the kind of fear her students would have gone through, never mind the parents at home.

So here am I, sitting at the airport hoping my flight leaves before the big one. I’m pretty sure I’m safe.

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

3 thoughts on “I felt the Earth move

  1. Wow. What an experience! I’m taking my kids to Disneyland in the spring. My husband will be there, too, but he is averse to rides, amusement parks, and large groups of other humans so he’ll likely sit on a bench with his iPad while the three of us go explore. It would be bad form to hope a small earthquake shakes him up a bit… right? >:-}

    • Tell him it isn’t a standard issue theme park. It is about story telling. Every ride tells a story. You become immersed in the experience and the ride is secondary. Typical theme park haters love Disneyland. I hate amusment parks and rides – but love the Disney experience. It will surpirse him and your kiddos will be over the moon!!!

      Learn the fastpass system. Email me if you need tips and tricks to make your kiddos experience more magical :)

Keep the conversation going!

