The Learn to Drive Milestone

 

A rite of passage happened yesterday. It was a very exciting moment for me.

My son drove a car for the first time.

This was a big deal. I remember being 16 and my dad took me out in his Blue Dodge Diplomat to the church parking lot. He put the car in park, opened the car door and stepped around to the passenger side. I couldn’t wait to get into the drivers seat! My dad is a teacher by trade profession and is one of the best. He explained in very clear detail, my step by step procedure.

When you put the car in drive, it will move forward, so keep your foot on the brake.

As you slowly release the brake, the car will move forward.

Stomping on the brake will cause me to vomit.

Take your time, we have all the time in the world – we don’t have to rush.

And thus began my first driving lesson 1983 – an era before seatbelts.

 

Last night after dinner, I said to my 16 year old. “are you busy? Can you come out with me for a bit?”

He looked at me suspiciously, assessed the situation and agreed. I drove out of the city and to a country school about 10 minutes from my home. I figured this would be a good spot with no pedestrian or motor traffic. He looked at me and said, “Either this is a driving lesson or you are about to murder me and dump my body.”

Me-“Correct, I have a baseball bat in the trunk and a carpet to roll you up in.”

He laughed and climbed out of the car, went around to the driver’s side and waited until i was in the passenger seat before he got in. The first thing he did was put on his seat belt and complain about how weird it felt crossing over the other side of his body. I asked how he felt, the reply was “Nervous and a bit scared.”

Me- “We won’t be going of 10km and there will be no reversing the car today. Just slow on the straight away and turns.”

I gave him the same instructions my dad gave me. Calm and quiet, full of confidence I never felt. I forgot to mention the part about stomping on the brake will induce vomiting. Sure enough, I was thankful for the seatbelt as he tested the brakes. He drove in circles for about a half hour. He tried stopping various times and got the hang of not smashing my face into glass. He actually was a quick study. He pulled up to the fence and I inquired as to how he planned on moving the car since I said no reversing. He said he could either get out and have me do it, or he give it a try himself. I gave him the step by step instructions for reversing, this included how you turn the wheel in the opposite direction of where you want to go. I then heard the Doc Hudson reference from him. The quote from the movie

I’ll put it simple: if you’re going hard enough left, you’ll find yourself turning right.

Ummmm nooooooooooooo. But secretly was happy he used a Pixar reference. When he didn’t shoulder check I made splat sounds and told him that was puppies and babies he ran over. He laughed and put the car back up against the fence and did it again. This time he shoulder checked. About 10 more minutes, and I directed him to park near the gate. We traded places and I asked him how he felt now. His reply was one of confidence. “I don’t feel scared anymore. Just nervous because there is so much to remember.”

I drove down the country road and into Sherwood Park. I found the Dairy Queen where we planned to celebrate. He asked if this was the one his Grandpa took me too. “Nope, that one is an insurance company now”. We had blizzards to celebrate. He told me he hated the licence plate cover on my car. It says “I’d rather by in Walt Disney World.” I told him I hated the Datsun B210 I had to drive when I was a kid.

You never get to drive the cool car when you are young because it is too expensive. Once you can afford it, you look like a ridiculous old dude trying to recapture his youth. He laughed and agreed that bald guys are hilarious in a convertible. I rest my case. I reminded him to look at the cars the high school kids drive – if they are lucky. He laughed and said, “you’re right, they are all beaters or mommy vehicles.”

Now my boy is motivated to get a job. Insurance is expensive, now that he has a glimpse of the freedom of the future.

 

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

11 thoughts on “The Learn to Drive Milestone

  1. The memories that milestones like this bring to the surface are pretty amazing aren’t they? I can remember in detail driving with my Dad (who was way too nervous and still is), my boyfriend (and future ex-husband) and the mini-fight we got into, where I called him a prick and he called me a bitch because I ‘supposedly’ cut someone off when changing lanes, to the wonderful driving instructor who made me feel confident and secure in my driving abilities. I truly hope that I’m the ‘driving instructor’ for my girls now that they are learning the ways of the road.

  2. Congrats to genetic offspring! As for you, enjoy this short period of apprehension as soon you will no longer be allowed to drive yourself anywhere (and eventually, because because apparently you will no longer know how)

    I will always remember that no (insert your family name here) family celebration would be complete without a trip to DQ!

    In the non-rainy season I rock a rag-top. Whew…. so thankful I still have all my hair! ;o)

    • That reference was made for his Uncle, bald, old typical mid-forties dude that we have in our family. They think they are cool …. but were they ever? Now when WOMEN rock a convertible, THAT is a different story! That needs a DQ celebration :)

  3. Hooray for him!!! I actually haven’t had my first driving lesson, yet. Clearly, such motivators as ‘freedom’, ‘responsibility’, and ‘maturity’ are not nearly as influential as Dairy Queen Blizzards ;-)

  4. That sounded like great quality time! In SA the first cars we need ti learn to drive are manuals. Most cars are. Not sure why. The car I got yesterday (yah for me) is automatic! Finally after all these years. Lol. However, much much more expensive. My mom never learnt how to drive a manual and it is constantly constantly a problem. Never an issue there? Xxx

Keep the conversation going!

