Serendipity

I met a man yesterday who made such a profound impact on my soul. He fleeted into my life for a moment and then left as quickly as he came in. His life story was one that was too shocking to tell, but one that had he not experienced, he would not be the person he is today. His presence and story left a permanent imprint on my being.

Throughout his journey he has learned the art of compassion and forgiveness. He understands giving and can accept receiving. These are gifts that not everyone is good at. Lots of people can be paid a complement and the words are deflected instead of received as the gift they are intended to be. I learned many things during my time with this man but the key message I need to take from this experience is this:

5 minutes or 50 years

Think about that for a moment.

If you had 5 minutes to live what would you do? Then why aren’t you doing it?

 

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

2 thoughts on “Serendipity

  1. Wow what a profound question! :-) When I think about this very moment in the light…even after having an exhausting day, gratitude and appreciation enters me. This very moment is cherished regardless of any irritations. Thank you for that warm post!

Keep the conversation going!

