Laugh, Dance, Sing and Cry a little bit.

I have had so much coffee I am vibrating! None of it is from too much caffeine. I swear!It’s from happiness and bliss. Two days ago I put out the invitation for coffee. Well I challenged you to ask me, and wow did you ever! I had coffee with a sweet girl this morning before work and tonight was a last-minute coffee party with my scrappin’ girls! No, not Scrapping as in we fight and argue, but we use to scrap as in scrap-book. That isn’t as prevalent in our lives anymore but we still try to see each other semi regularly. We got all caught up on lives and changes and moves. Some bits were sad and some were funny but mostly I sat there thinking, “I love these Ladies!” When we were quiet for a brief minute, I would reflect on our past get togethers. We would go away for a weekend and put up with each others quirks and music because we had fun being together, laughing and crying and laughing some more.

This weekend I am meeting with another dear old friend ( sorry about the “old” part if you are reading this 😉 ).We were roommates for one summer. There were four of us who lived in a cabin while we were camp counselors. The space was large enough for two bunk-beds and several milk crates filled with clothes. Two girls were spotlessly clean, and the other two were borderline pigs (Yes I was a pig – shocking and hard to believe, but very true – yes I am being sarcastic) To this day, I cannot recall another 4 months that I learned so much or enjoyed so much. My biggest regret is turning my back and walking away. I treated that summer like it was a dream. Every time I think back to that time, I smile and think of the crazy cast of characters that made a lasting impression on me. I will always think of you guys very fondly. You taught me skills that I still use today. My campfire repertoire and storytelling skills are second to none. I can still make cake in an orange, I can still sing before dawn, and NFB Shorts get Googled by me now and then. I learned never to dry my face with Stinging Nettles. I learned it is better to be hands then face for “the Little Peoples Skit”. I learned the importance of a having a “song” for every occasion. I will still burst into song regularly throughout my day. It is always the right song for the right moment.

All those camp movies may seem fake, but they get the feeling right. I cannot wait to visit with her again!! This meeting up with old chums is very exciting for me. I don’t think I could do this a year ago. I am liking this new brave tourist who resides in me. Uh OH, I feel a song coming on….

So, help me if you can I’ve got to get
back to the house at Pooh corner by one.
You’d be surprised there’s so much to be done,
count all the bees in the hive,
chase all the clouds from the sky.
Back to the days of Christopher Robin and Pooh.

-House at Pooh Corner by Loggins and Messina

Keep the conversation going!

