That is a Great Costume! What are you?

Children dressed up in Halloween costumes.
Who dresses like this for Halloween?

I use to spend hours flipping through catalogs and patterns looking for adorable Halloween costumes for the Offspring to wear. Some costumes were incredibly cute! I was particularly fond of a ladybug outfit that I had wanted one of my kids to wear, but the sad reality was, Ladybug costumes just aren’t warm enough.

As I write today the current temperature is -2C or 28F. Winter has arrived here in Edmonton and brought a dusting of snow along with it. Typical Halloween Costume criteria for Canadian kids is 1> does it fit OVER a snow suit? 2> is it made of FUR? 3> Are the mittens able to hold on to the bag of candy?

It sounds so complicated here. Last August I was at Walt Disney World, Florida with my family. It was hotter than walking on the sun. The bottom of my flip-flops stuck to the sidewalk because they were melting to the pavement. That isn’t normally a problem here in the Great White North! All the shops were filled with tiny costumes the required bare legs or arms. Sizing meant the ACTUAL size of the child, not snowsuit size. Nothing was made of fur! Buying costumes in the United States was never really an option for us. Simply not warm enough.

When I was a kid, costumes were never that fancy.You either dressed like an Eskimo Inuit or you went digging in your Dad’s closet to dress as a Hobo, and when I say hobo – I mean my dad was not really a Hobo. Sure Mom thought he dressed like one, but his clothes were large enough to fit OVER all my winter gear. It was very warm and it needed to be. We would head out in the DARK, because sunset was 4:00pm. Thanks to Daylight Savings later now, the sunsets after dinner. One thing was always constant, there was snow and lots of it. A colleague and I were talking about the year there was a blizzard for Halloween. It was so cold most kids stayed home. Snow drifts were thigh high and the temperature had to be -25C. We would trudge ( because you can’t just walk in a snow drift) up to the house, people would be so impressed that you braved the cold, they would dump candy by the handfuls into your pillowcase. 10 houses and you had enough candy to last until Christmas!

In the past 10 years, Halloween has been warmer. My Offspring really doesn’t know what it is like to be out in a blizzard for Halloween, but they still wore snowsuits under their Minnie Mouse, or Darth Vader costumes. It looks like this year will be a bit colder in years past. Only one Offspring is braving the cold this year. Obviously I have failed as a Mom raising a true “Canadian” trick or treater. Braving cold is no longer a badge of honor. Kids rather eat food in the pantry then go door to door and beg for it.

I don’t have anyone to take door to door this year. I faked being really happy about it. But the truth of the matter is I am kind of sad. No dressing warm, no walking around in the dark, no laughing with other moms and the outrageous costume ideas. But mostly I will miss visiting one special house down the street from me. They gave candy to the kids but “special” treats for the adults  – and when I say “special” I mean Kahlua. That is what made walking around the neighborhood really fun.

I wonder if I can “borrow” the neighbor’s kids this year?

10 thoughts on “That is a Great Costume! What are you?

  1. Robyn – you make me laugh. Kendall’s first Halloween in Texas – she wore her costume from the previous year when we lived in Sherwood Park. It was a teletubbies costume made entirely of lined fleece. Needless to say, I almost gave my child heatstroke in Dallas because Halloween night was 28 degrees Celsius. Next year she went as a Powerpuff girl – wearing a tiny dress & bare legs.

    1. 😀 Poor Kendall! I can’t even imagine what it is like to go out in a cute girlie outfit in 28C weather! It just would not feel like Halloween to me, but I don’t think it would hurt my feelings or anything like that. I’m glad I made you laugh, I will hide behind you when Dad finds out I told the world about his Hobo clothes 😉

  2. We were living in Sherwood Park on Kenneth’s 1st Halloween. His Dad made a costume out of foam it was a dinosaur and had to be attached to his snowsuit. Needless to say that year we had a heatwave and it was 20 degrees celius and thre poor kid was melting in his costume. Next year I bought a costume that could be worn over or under a snowsuit. It was a Pirate Costume and he wore it for a couple of years. Even to the Preschool Halloween Parties. Kenneth dressed up today for University as he has no classes tomorrow. He is a band member named Dead. My how things change.

Keep the conversation going!

