Let’s get on with the Show!

Lower Central Park at 1:00 p.m. Photographer's...
Image via Wikipedia

My Christmas Vacation is almost over and here I am feeling sorry for myself.

In spite of my best efforts to dig deep for the Christmas Spirit and downsize the amount of holiday hullabaloo, I still find myself run ragged and dreaming wistfully at destinations beyond my scope of reality.

I find myself fantasizing about living in a home where it is always clean and tidy. Where items are located where they ought to be. A home where peace and quiet mean the TV isn’t on and people use their “inside” voices. I had a bit of a meltdown today when it all got to be too much. I stood in the shower and a thought about a vacation to a far off place where I could explore it alone.

I’ve told you before about the family I come from. We are a clan of people who like our space and we like LOTS of it. That means, alone time is incredibly valuable. Christmas with my family was great fun but it ends almost as quickly as it starts. We meet for dinner, we eat, we unwrap gifts, we laugh we go home. It ends in a few short hours. Conversely at my Honey’s family gatherings we meet, we visit, we get around at some point to eat, we visit some more and then watch the hockey game, then visit some more, THEN hit the road! I had a lovely time. It was nice being pampered at their home, teasing people and teased backed and laughing. Two very different experiences, but both overloading me on social niceties. Doesn’t that make me sound like an Ogre?

There is something about me that enjoys solitude. The older I get the more I crave it. I crave it so much, that a dream come true would be a week or two on vacation by myself. Indulge me if you will and shall describe to you what a solo dream vacation sounds like.

I would purchase a single ticket to fly me to New York City. I would get to sit in an airplane seat, sitting next to a stranger, not having to talk about anything. I could read or listen to music uninterrupted! That alone sounds like a vacation! Expedia says I could fly at spring break and stay in Midtown for a week for under $1700. There is so much to see and do I wouldn’t know where to begin. But of course I would have a plan. The first nice sunny day would be spent exploring Central Park. I want to see it all from the Belvedere Castle to Strawberry Fields. I want to grab lunch at a great Jewish deli and eat on the Great Lawn. I want to take myself out to a great dinner, somewhere so fantastic that I will need to shop at Bergdorf Goodman first. This will indulge my Doris Day A Touch of Mink fantasy. I want to go to a Broadway show or six. I want to wander the halls of the Met and the MoMA. I want to go and play at F.A.O. Schwartz and take a peek at Rockefeller Plaza.  I want to go to Mulberry Street and look at the wondrous things Dr. Seuss said I could see.

Then I would come home. Rested, excited and wishing I would have brought my family with me.

I am going to do this. It may not happen this year or the next. There are several steps I need to make before I can indulge myself. The first step has happened. I am in school. I will finish my degree. The second step will happen tomorrow. I am making a call to change my lifestyle habits. My Doctor will assist me. The third step will happen on my way home from work everyday. I am going to swim again.

That’s not asking for much. I want to be healthy, wealthy and wise.

The Edmonton Tourist rides again!

14 thoughts on “Let’s get on with the Show!

  1. All I can think to say is “Good for You”. . . . . . .and no matter how down some days can be . . . . .be true to yourself and stick to your plan. Except . . . .you seriously need your mother to take you to New York.

  2. That was my favorite Dr. Seuss book growing up, btw.

    I understand your need for alone time. I think we all crave that, to some extent or another. Me? I’ve got gobs of alone time every other week, when the kids aren’t with me. I have to say it’s probably the single best thing about being divorced, this chance to do what I want, when I want, no questions asked.

    I’d love a trip to NYC just like yours.

    1. Is it wrong to feel envy towards you? I have a single girlfriend who has her own home and no kids, I always joke and say she is living the dream…but I think I would feel like someone cut off my arm if I was suddenly without my family. Grass is always greener and all that. I’ll settle for an alone trip. 🙂

  3. Those sound like some clear New Years Resolutions? Let me know how it goes…. and your holiday in New York sounds absolutely awesome. Can i join? You can pretend my name is “silence”, and i wont come in 2 metres of you. Haha.

  4. What a great visual you gave us. I am sure every mom dreams of time alone. Here’s a small tip that works for me…on the week-end, if you are running around doing chores, plan an extra half hour and stop for a coffee or tea, read a magazine you would never have time to read at home, or just sit and watch all the people in the coffee shop. Talk to no one, enjoy the ‘found time’, and tell no one.

    Good luck with the changes you are planning, and know that if you don’t fulfill them all every day, that’s still okay.

  5. Your solo vacation sounds wonderful. I feel like I would go to some gorgeous tropical beach and just relax, drink a pina colada and take my time. Read a book. Just BE. I used to go on those sorts of vacations with my ex and I really miss them. I miss that we didn’t have our honeymoon. And I kept thinking that I needed a man in my life to do this with… but maybe that’s not the case! A solo vacation may be in order for 2011 🙂

    1. When my life was in transition, I went on an Alaskan Cruise solo. I loved it! It helped me feel comfortable in my own skin. I met some interesting old people, I believe it was a seniors cruise. I walked up to the travel agent and said, I want to go on a vacation asap. He said I have this great last minute deal, I said when do I leave…
      It was one of the best and worst experiences in my life. My wounds were too raw to fully enjoy it. I should have waited – but then I likely wouldn’t have done it. I learned about risk taking since that trip. I recommend a solo trip for Simply Solo this year, great blog material 😉

Keep the conversation going!

