If My Life was a Movie…

I had lunch today with one of my favorite “Lunch People”, Dr. Teeth. She is as groovy as the band leader but so has many other qualities that just make me want to quit my job and be her assistant and bask in her hilarity and adventurousness.

She entertained our troops today with a story about a Sudanese Interpreter.Β  Being a sheltered Canadian Girl, she wanted to know what it was like to visit Sudan. He told her many horrifying tales but all she could think of was “How wonderful are the Elephants?” His reply was “ELEPHANTS?!? THEY ARE CRAZY! They TRY to stomp on you! Stay AWAY from ELEPHANTS!” She sighed with romantic flare and suggested she take a solo trip to Sudan – because like me – the thought of a solo trip is to amazing to let the possibility slip away. He replied with ARE YOU CRAZY? Not a good idea to travel to Sudan by yourself – EVER.Β  Then her thoughts drifted to Nicaragua, possibly a solo trip…

I accused her of being a nut bar. The thought of needing 100 different shots and shooing away flying insects strong enough to steal your car is enough for me to say I’ll PASS, thanks! I suggested some place marvelous like New York City. That is the kind of trip you take solo. That didn’t seem to have enough excitement for her. She was just there for the New York Marathon and although she really enjoyed it, she needed more death defying adventure. I suspect her imagination is more like Katherine Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart in African Queen then Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

I confessed at lunch to wanting a solo trip to New York City. A Colleague was shocked and said it was much too dangerous. Too Dangerous? 8 Million people live there. 8 Million people don’t DIE there, they LIVE there. How bad could it be? It’s not like I would walk around in a shirt that says “I am carrying all my money in my pocket, please help yourself!” I wouldn’t ask for trouble by telling people I am a tourist. I live by the credo of planning. PLAN PLAN PLAN. Read maps, have an itinerary, get the public transit app for my ipod and ask questions BEFORE I go. I know New York City isn’t where Pollyanna Anne of Green Gables lives, I know how it is because I watch movies! I never watch the bad ones, I don’t enjoy them messing with my head. I know that Holly Golightly loved that town and it loved her. I know that after I eat my Breakfast at Tiffany’s I could go inside and they would treat me like a queen and sell me a $10 telephone dialer. I know that if it starts to snow I can go a lay in the middle of Rockefeller Center’s Skating Rink and John Cusak will throw a glove at me in a very Serendipitous fashion. I know if I was hungry and wanted to be as satisfied with my lunch as Sally was, I would go to Katz Deli and have what SHE had. I know that if I was looking for someone, all I need to do is talk nice to a cab driver and they would drive me all over the place looking for that person the same way Gene Kelly and Frank Sinatra did in On the Town! If someone in New York ever asked me how do I know all these things, all I have to do is start singing in Central Park and parades of people would join in, offer me free stuff and lift me up over the Bow Bridge and throw flowers at me.

I know all this because my life is a movie.

Wait a minute, no it’s not… Sure I have a song for every occasion, but that does not mean I live in a musical. Sure I know a million people, Edmonton is a small city, but that does not mean I work with a cast of thousands. I just feel a bit delusional because Canada lost the Gold medal to Russia and I need a little fantasy moment to help me through the pain and agony of defeat.

If my life was a movie, Canada would have won and I would be going to New York City to celebrate because I would have been in Buffalo to watch the tournament. But it’s not. So I will go lick my wounds and start fresh tomorrow. Next year the Hockey Tournament is in Edmonton. I don’t need my life to be a movie because we’ll win next year.

16 thoughts on “If My Life was a Movie…

  1. Great blog Robyn,
    I too am crying in my cereal bowl today with us not winning the Gold but hey at least we got Silver it could have been worse and we could’ve stunk and won nothing. Oh who am I kidding we should’ve won Gold darn it all anyways. I’m with you I need more treavelling. New York is one place I will get to. Also my hubby thinks that I think we have a money tree in the backyard for all my dreams. Well we all know its that machine at the bank and never runs out. I wish! Huh!

  2. Boo Russian Hockey Team! Canada will get it next time πŸ™‚
    My imaginary life is a movie, my mind tends to bring it up in the middle of the night as dreams. Seriously, some of my dreams should be made into movies (hmm.. like Avatar!)

    1. Hmmm Avatarlike dreams? That would freak me out and I would never sleep!
      Boo Russian Hockey Team! At least they were happy about it – I’ve seen Russian teams that didn’t look like they cared if they won 😐

  3. Actually, New York is quite safe these days, especially considering the large population. You’d be in considerably more danger if you strolled through the streets of St. Louis or New Orleans alone.

    Plus, NYC has a lot more to offer than either of those places!

  4. The poor hockey team – I told my 14 year-old goalie son they could have used him. He couldn’t have let in more goals in 3rd period than they did. πŸ™‚

    Good for you only watching the happy movies. That helps with your tourist mentality / goal.

  5. I lived in NYC for two years…NOT as bad as people make it out to be! I could answer so many of your travel questions re: NYC. I found the people there to be amiable and helpful. Sure, there are some real jerks there, but there are jerks everywhere…you just have to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.

    I definitely have been to Serendipity and Katz’s Deli. I was very into “You’ve Got Mail” when I went there, so I went every place Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks went. Living there, though, is VERY different than just visiting. Let me know if you ever take a trip there! I could offer some tips and places to go!

  6. Hasn’t Canada won enough hockey championships? I get that fans are always disappointed when their team loses, but if another team/country doesn’t win *once* in a while… what’s the point of even playing a tournament?

    Oh, and I loved the comment about NYC not being exciting enough. It really isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. To be honest, i had a better time in Toronto.

    1. No Canada has not won enough, we want them all 24/7! On a cerebral level you make sense, however, on a fundamental level I am giving you 2 minutes for boarding πŸ˜‰
      I cannot side with you on Toronto, they are the enemy – sure just in Hockey terms but my loyalty runs deep πŸ˜€

  7. I had a friend once tell me that my life was not some fictional romantic comedy…that those just don’t exist…well I totally beg to differ! I have drama, action, and definitely moment’s of comic relief too. I think your life is YOUR movie ET! πŸ˜‰ What a wonderful movie indeed!

    xoxo
    CatMan

Keep the conversation going!

