My Ugly Shoes Weakness

Facebook wants me to buy these:

Really Facebook? You think I need those? You know I have a penchant for ugly shoes. Maybe that is the reason. Like many of you, I went through the Croc phase. I had a heel spur from wearing really cute shoes that RUINED my feet. I could hardly walk and Crocs saved me from a fate worse than surgery. My Friend2 (friend squared) often reminded me that my Crocs were hideous. I knew it, I did not care because I was secure in my comfort. Crocs came a long way from ” wow, those are super ugly” to “seriously, those are Crocs?”. There is even an enitre shoe store dedicated to Crocs on Whyte Avenue. I love Croc flip-flops, and have a special pair I wear for work. Those Crocs are suede. I know, how much uglier can I get in the shoe department? Crocs AND suede! My feet love me.

Back in August I decided I needed to modify my style. Become an adult in the style department. Wear the things I like rather than things that are easy. Part of that was shoes. I love how great looking shoes make me feel. I have a pair of Cause and Effect Heels I wish I could wear every day. My job just doesn’t lend itself to heels. I need flat and functional. In my line of work, you never know when I may need to run down the hallway on a moments notice. Heels just don’t work for that. So I bought a pair of functional leather shoes that are not ugly. They certainly aren’t super cute, but they aren’t ugly. Then I went and bought Croc insoles! Take THAT Friend2, I am secretly wearing Crocs! Yay Me!

To update my wishes from August, I wear more black and less cartoon-esque colours. I wear nice shoes and boots when I go out. I bought a winter coat ( WOOOOHOOO!) that is black and not pink plaid! It was true about the clothes building confidence. I feel good. Yet Facebook still thinks I should own Five Finger shoes.

Facebook is right about other things I should own, like plane tickets to New York, Johnny Depp, and Facebook thinks I should go to Costa Rica. I think I should too! So Facebook, you are sitting pretty smug about thinking I need Five Finger Shoes.

Last summer I was sitting in Starbucks ( there is a surprise! I was in Starbucks!) and a women came in wearing the Five Finger Shoes. I had never seen them before. I thought they were pretty ugly, so of course I thought they were perfect for me. Hahaha – kidding! I was intrigued though. I asked her about them, because (who are we kidding) I am NOT shy. She said she ran in them and they were the most comfortable running shoe she ever owned. I must admit, my feet were jealous. I went to the web site and learned they are good for yoga, running, water sports and traveling – really, traveling? I’m sure there were some places I have been where they would have been frowned upon. Still, they interest me. I prefer my yoga barefoot. I prefer my water sports barefoot. That is the point though, they are barefoot sports. Therefor this shoe is suppose to be ideal.

It is ugly enough for me, but is it practical enough? Tell me what you think. I would love to know if you own a pair, or just what you think of then if you don’t own a pair.

 

25 thoughts on “My Ugly Shoes Weakness

  1. I do yoga barefoot, too. Keeps up my traction, and plus…you’re right! It’s a barefoot sport!

    I’ve often seen these shoes at the mall. Quite intriguing, I must say. My advice? Don’t knock ’em ’til you try ’em!

  2. $125???? Are they crazy? πŸ˜‰
    Just imagine how long it would take for you to actually put them on? I had finger socks, and that was a mission. (And then i needed bigger shoes.) If you really think about it- there woudl be something between EVERY toe. That could feel very odd, and make your feet feel perhaps webbed!
    If you get them, post some pics!!!
    xx

  3. If they are really comfortable, I can seriously see wearing them. I love my Crocs but since spending the holidays with you . . . .no one knows I am wearing them. I am a secret insole croc wearer. I now even wear boots. Why? Because I have croc insoles! Aahh! My feet love me!

  4. When the five finger shoes were first being introduced to Canada I watched a news special on them. Apparently, they are THE BEST footwear for runners! Runners who wear them sustain less injury, as it allows the foot to move naturally. For me, I would worry about running over glass, something burning, sharp objects.
    Not pretty shoes, but apparently they are a true gift to your body! Let us know if you buy some.

    1. The sole looks quite substantial, so I don’t think there is a fear of injuring your foot via glass or burning coals. ( what kind of parties do you go to?lol) If that was the cas, I would think going in sock feel would be enough.

  5. I’ll probably be the only male to comment here on a post about shoes… lol… but I liked this post, I liked your comments about dressing nicely and the feeling of confidence it brings to you. I agree with that comment 100%. I wish I had the opportunity to dress up in professional clothes more often. Now regarding shoes… I’ve worked in a family retail business for about 18 years now. I’ve literally beat the shit out of my legs, my feet and my body by the amount of walking and standing we do. I used to wear dress shoes all the time, now I have gotten to the point where I wear running shoes to work. Do I like to do that? No, not really but they’re comfortable and its the reality of having legs and feet that hurt all the time, so I get your point about having “ruined” feet. I have never tried Crocs. My kids love them and wear them all the time. I know a lot of people swear by them. I just can’t get by the “look” of them. Lastly I think that is great decision to, as you say, become an adult in the style department. I’ve find myself losing sight of that sometimes too.

    1. I think more men should have your attitude about dressing for confidence or success. I personally appreciate it when men take the time to look their best, I know other women do too!. So Kudos to you! I recommend croc insoles for you then…give them a try. At the end of the day it is only $24 if you don’t like them. AND thanks for the support! πŸ™‚

  6. Loved the article. I think I might buy a pair of theose ugly shoes for when I am on the treadmill. My speed starts out at 6.4 and I go up from there. My orthotics which by the way cost 500.00 just aren’t cutting it on the treadmill. 125.00 is alot cheaper than orthotics and if I am more comfortable they will be worth it.
    Thanks

  7. Come on, ET, you know you want to! I think they look pretty funky and weird, but if they make your feet feel like a million bucks, why not? Ok, they’re ugly, but they obviously do good: a bit like Bob Geldof.
    Sunshine xx

  8. LOL!! I love that you love ugly shoes. Usually I see shoes like these and just think, yuck. Ugly shoes. Why would someone wear such ugly shoes? I never considered that there are people out there that genuinely are attracted and LIKE ugly shoes! Different strokes, I guess! πŸ™‚

    1. LOL Someone needs to love ugly shoes! We can’t all love the same shoes, the world would be in chaos! I do love pretty shoes too. Prada, Christian Louboutin, Jimmy Choo…Who are we kidding, I just love shoes and don’t discriminate πŸ˜€

  9. They remind me of toe sock–i loved them in 5th grade but man now I cringe at the thought of wearing them!

    I had a friend too that was interested in buying a pair, tried them on and he didn’t like the feel of them. Now I also have other people that swear up and down a tree bark re: how wonderful they are!

  10. I used to love pretty shoes. Then, like you, I got heel spurs and decided to resort to Crocs rather than suffer. I have not looked back since.

    My motto has changed. Who cares if the shoe is semi-ugly as long as your feet feel great? πŸ™‚

  11. I β™₯β™₯β™₯ mine! So much so, that I will never run traditionally shod again, AND I have more than one pair. I also have a whole category on my blog dedicated to them. πŸ˜‰ I think you should try them. But then don’t try and tell me I didn’t warn you….. πŸ˜†

  12. PS- the ones in the picture are Vibrams, which actually ARE a minimalist shoe- there are lots of fakes out there, and then there are others that have a similar look (like the Fila Skeletoes) but have a sole on them, which then of course, defeats the purpose of being a minimal shoe and emulating being barefoot…….

Keep the conversation going!

