What is Next on the List?

Today was GORGEOUS! 9C and to me that is shirt sleeve weather. ChatterBox and I went for a shopping trip because she keeps growing, it’s kind of expensive having a teen daughter. However, I still like her so there isn’t much I can do about it. We had a lovely day, it felt good to be outside. I’m feeling good too – well physically. Shedding weight, exercising regularly, eating pretty good. It got me thinking about my next goal. As you know I make daily goals and long term goals. I am doing well on the daily goal. I am working on my long term goal (my degree, and sign up soon for 2 more classes!) I think it is time to pursue a long term physical goal. I have the intellectual goal in check. So I was thinking…

In my family I am blessed with runners. They love the feeling and enjoy the mental component of running. While I am in NO condition to run, I need to shed more weight to be kind to my knees. I am capable of walking. Gals at work have a walking group, quite a few walk half marathons. Here is my new goal: I will walk in the Edmonton Derby Half Marathon in 2012.

To do this I need to do a few things:

  • Keep swimming 4 times a week
  • Keep up with Yoga
  • walk 4 times a week ( I can manage weekends and 2 days a week)
  • Buy new shoes for walking
  • keep a log of how many km I walk (how cool would it be to “walk across Canada”?)
  • Join the half marathon walking class at the Running Room next spring

Here is my plan, I will walk Tuesdays,Thursdays, Saturdays and have my long walk on Sundays. I may find I need to build up to 4 days a week, or keep my walks short until I can do more. I am swimming 45mins now but started with only 10min, so I am building stamina. I know I can do it, and by putting it here, I have now told the universe so that makes me accountable. I need to think about a plan for winter. But who wants to do that today with the weather so nice? Not me.

So as Katie Scarlett O’Hara said, “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow.”

Wish me luck!

12 thoughts on “What is Next on the List?

  1. 9 C…
    I’m an ignorant American, so I can’t easily tell how warm or cold that is. In my defense, my elementary schools never did live up to their promise to convert us all to the metric system in the 70s!

  2. Hahahahahahaahaha. Hahahaha. T-shirt weather? That’s boots, scarves and jerseys for me. No wonder you laughed at my tweet. Feel very sorry for you guys. Time to move house!!! Come here. You won’t even need jerseys probably. Our winter gets to a min of 0ish…. But throughout the day moves up. I will keep you updated. Today is 23 degrees celsius, and I am wearing a long sleeve shirt.
    Xx

    1. 23C is HOT! lol That is sweet summer time of lying in the pool getting a sun tan ๐Ÿ™‚ I have a friend from Kenya, she says she hasn’t been warm since she and I quote “moved to the God forsaken country” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. You are my kindred spirit…went shopping with teenage daughter this week-end, walked outside in a shirt and no jacket, and working hard to exercise more. Keep going girlfriend!!

  4. Wow, incredible! I’m behind you 100%

    …I wonder if I would feel more accountable if I made a post about health goals. I’m finding it hard to stick to a plan and I’m not sure that having a new baby is enough of an excuse anymore!

Keep the conversation going!

