I Love My Black Shoes, I Love My Black Shoes…

Do you know the story of Pete the Cat? The cat who loved his white shoes? This is a favorite story for my kiddies at school. The song easily gets stuck in your head.

That is what was going through my head today when I went and purchased my new shoes. No they aren’t Christian Louboutin. No they aren’t Prada. They are new running shoes and are the UGLIEST running shoes I have ever owned to date. Let me explain about my need for new shoes…

Last week I was doing hill repeats. Those suck by the way, 100m hill x 7. The only thing nice about it was the view of the creek. Living on the prairies, hills are a little hard to come by without driving to the river valley. So off I go to the sad little creek which is about 1km away. Then I walk up and down and up and down and up and down…well you get the idea. Almost at the end of my hill session, my knee was giving me serious grief. This was the knee I wrecked in Europe and tore the MCL. It still isn’t 100%, and after last weeks hills, I thought I was a goner for the rest of the season. I hobbled home and took an ice bath, also not as fun as it sounds. You would be surprised at the difference it makes to your muscles though! 3 days later, I was scheduled for my 16k. My furthest walk to date without stopping to ride a roller coaster or get a character autograph.

After about 9k into my walk, my knee started screaming at me. It was saying things like “You big dumb stupid ass head! Why are you doing this to me?” I stopped and rested for a bit. Then pressed on. By the time I had reached 12k, I stopped to do yoga stretches on someones lawn. My body was killing me because I was over compensating for my knee. Not a good idea. My Yoga instructor told me once that I should try and walk with out a limp. It is better over all for my body, however, my knee disagreed. In that moment, it was all I could do not to hail a cab, or call my mommy. The stretching helped me make it to 16k and into my Gran’s house where I was met with water!!! Thanks Gran!

Meanwhile, I had asked various runners their opinion on shoes. I think it was my shoes fault. I made the mistake of buying the shoes I always get because once 6 years ago, I was told that style was what I needed for my stance.  My feet never really liked those shoes. I have had them 2 months and walked 200km in them. Technically they should be good for another 200km but there are a couple of factors in play here. 1> I am heavier than the average runner. By heavier I mean a LOT heavier. We are talking Clydesdale on steroids. Naturally I would wear out my shoes quicker.  2> I never was properly fitted for my shoes. I am stronger now than I was when I was originally fitted for my shoes. That might play a factor when it comes to pronating. Besides, I have holes in my shoes already from yoga toe when I walk…I blame YOU Trophi Girl!

Today I walked into the specialty running store and was specially fitted. Turns out I no loner pronate and now only need a neutral shoe! So the muscles are a factor! As soon as I put on the first shoe I knew my old shoes were wrong. 6 pairs later and the right shoe for me was the ugliest shoe on the shelf. Black and Pink. Ffffffffffff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!KKKK

Black is fine, pink is fine, together it feels like something Pinky Tuscadero might wear. Once again, I bow to comfort. It is the only way I am going to finish this race. I am registered now so there is no backing out. I am too cheap to even consider it! Going for comfort is the only way.

I am going to test them out tonight. My knee isn’t ready for another 16km, I will test it out with an easy 8-10k. That makes me laugh. Who would ever think I would consider 8-10k easy? I do now! 4 sizes smaller and new ugly shoes keeps the mo going.

Sing it with me! “I love my black shoes, I love my black shoes, I love my black shoes…”

 

12 thoughts on “I Love My Black Shoes, I Love My Black Shoes…

  1. An easy 8-10K?!?!?! Wow, you’ve come a long way my friend. I’ve run my share of 5K’s, they’re often promo events. I’m not sure I have ever found one of those easy! BTW I think the black shoes are cool, and they won’t get dirty as quick.

    1. I know, right?!?! I look at what I can do and I am surprised it’s me! I now look at possibilities as limitless. It has been a helluva year! I ended up doing just over 9k and it felt good. It was suppose to be 16k but I think that would push my knee to hard. Today I swam 3G and will wear my ugly shoes for 5k. I seriously need to show you guys a side view of the shoe. Your eyes will pop out of head at the ugliness!!

  2. You Go Girl! Congratulations on your achievements!
    The Black shoes are sexy. Remember black is slimming even in a shoe. They won’t show the dirt. As you know black goes with anything and everything. The pink just makes it girlie!

  3. Merely a smiling visitor here to share the love , btw outstanding style. Audacity, a lot more audacity and always audacity. by Georges Jacques Danton. gdakdcddaaea

Keep the conversation going!

