Hockey Fever, I have it BAD

Rexall-Place Edmonton Oilers at Night
Image via Wikipedia

I’ve got Hockey fever and I feel helpless against it.

It is 30C outside and all I can think about is the season opener at Rexall Place with the Edmonton Oilers hosting the Penguins without Sidney Crosby. I have been following the Rookie training camp, with the baby Oilers in Penticton. I have been following the New York Ranger’s prospect chat on twitter and all I really want for Christmas is an honest to goodness chance for a decent playoff run. I haven’t had hockey fever this bad since the Dynasty Years in the 80’s.

I have an Eastern Team and a Western Team. I am not a Canada vs the world kind of fan. I am loyal to the Oilers and loyal to the Rangers, who are the Oiler’s East as far as I am concerned. I have had brief love affairs with the Red Wings while Stevie Y was there, he jumped ship and so did my feelings for the Wings. I despise Toronto and Montreal, I will NEVER cheer for Calgary – even when they make the playoffs and we don’t, I HATE Vancouver and the Sedin Sisters. I am happy for Winnipeg having the Jets back, but I won’t wear their cool new jersey and consider them the enemy. It’s Oilers or Rangers for me, after that I cheer original 6 unless it’s Toronto, because…I…just…can’t…

I was watching and reading several things about the Oiler’s draft pick, first over-all Tyler Nugent-Hopkins. He doesn’t even shave yet. He lowers the overall age average to 12. But DAMN can he skate. He will one day be a super star. Super star…. It has been a very long time since Edmonton has had a super star. Chris Pronger could be considered one, but Edmonton hates him so he doesn’t count. The last one was Mark Messier, my all time favorite. He left in 91, 20 years ago. Hall and Nugent-Hopkins are our next hope for greatness.

Edmonton Oilers, rebuilding since 1991. Hopefully we have re-built and the hockeygods have taken pity on us. We are hungry for playoffs and a couple of winning streaks. I am pretty sure it is the only thing that will satisfy my hockey fever. I need this universe. I can’t wait another 20 years.

 

10 thoughts on “Hockey Fever, I have it BAD

  1. I’ll admit, I am not much of a hockey fan, but I was living on Long Island back during the heyday, dynasty days of the Islanders in the 1980’s. Of course I was a Rangers fan and they would always lose to the Islanders! Oh well. Living in Michigan now, we certainly keep our eyes on the Wings – certainly a team with a ton of history and success. Never been to Joe Louis though, perhaps I’ll have to get some tix’s.

  2. You are such a Canadian! LOL. I’m more of a football and soccer fan than hockey, but I do hold a soft spot in my heart for the San Jose Sharks. You know, the team that has turned choking in the playoffs into an art form…

    1. Thank you! I’m sure you meant it as a compliment. I don’t understand the love for other sports but I can respect it. I get the fan thing and loyal to your team bit…but seriously, how can you not love hockey? As for the Sharks, I know them well, we ate them for breakfast in 2007 when that was the year they were suppose to win the cup. Choke is the operative word in their case.

  3. Hi
    Just caught up on all the blogs after being away for 3 weeks from the office. Enjoyed all your blogs. Gotta love 4 year olds huh! Hockey fever got it too. Craig is calling Tyler Nugent-Hopkins TNH for short. He started talking about TNH last night during sports cast I said huh? When I first saw him I thought he was 12 years old he sure is young looking and baby faced. Hopefully he doesn’t get injured like Crosby. I hope Crosby will be back. But of course I only root for the Oilers and no one else. Lets get to the playoffs this year please!!!!! Are you hearing me hockey gods we needs to be in the payoffs for many rounds!!!!

Keep the conversation going!

