Thank You Jim Henson

Jim Henson Memorial

Today would have been Jim Henson’s 75th Birthday. He was a tremendous influence in my life. Because of him, I

  1. flail my arms in the air like Kermit when I say “YaaaaY” in my class.
  2. learned nursery rhymes ALL WRONG but they stuck with me because they were funny
  3. could rock a cape like Grover
  4. considered “fun fur” an acceptable fashion accessory during the 70’s
  5. learned that life’s great moments are enhanced if you burst into song
  6. never thought it was odd if you possessed “googly eyes” or had a pet worm
  7. learned to count to 10 by saying “AH AH AH AH” in between each number
  8. thought I would like to live in a Brownstone in New York
  9. had my first major boy crush on a rock star (Floyd still rocks my world)
  10. loved Mr. Hooper enough that I cried when he died November 24, 1983
  11. called in sick to work on May 13, 1988 because Maria and Luis got married

I’ve always had a soft spot for the Muppets and as an adult find Muppet Adult Humor found HERE and see it HERE to be hilarious – yet … shall I say … Colourful?

I learned from Jim Henson that muppets share the same feelings of loneliness as I did. Muppets also found humor in the same places I did. In many ways my family is EXACTLY the same as the Muppets. We share the same philosophy. For example,  Cookie Monster explained his new philosophy that “Cookies are a sometimes food.” It was noted that he like Eggplant and fruit.

When asked on the meaning of life…

” Message? I got no message! I’m a puppet, man. This is all sham… make believe! Like everything! Everybody! We’re all puppets! That’s why we gotta boogie boogie boogie!!!”

– Dr. Teeth

How great is that? It means make the most of what you have. I love that.

Growing up in my family meant to needed to not take things too seriously. That was hard for me. I was perhaps more sensitive than others and masked it with meanness to protect myself. I was always told I was too sensitve. While I could dish it out, it was hard to take it. Now, flippant comments are not important to me. I can take it and dish it as much as the next person, maybe more so. I try not to be too serious, I love the goofy-ness of life and see humor around ever corner. Our family trips were even more ‘less serious’ if that was even possible. Those trips were always like a Muppet Adventure complete with an odd assortment of characters.

My parents are about to embark an another ‘Muppet Adventure’ sans the family. This time they are traveling to countries where ‘uprisings’ are occurring. My question is, who vacations in war-torn countries? My parents – that who. I would be lying if I said I was fine with this. I am trying to look at this as a bucket list opportunity for them. As they are traveling across biblical lands, I will take a page from their book and achieve a bucket list item of my own in muppet-esc fashion. I will smoke a cigar and possibly get myself a boomerang fish to celebrate the occasion. I must remember Kermit’s philosophy on life, it’s the same one my parents share – particularly when it comes to traveling,

“I really do believe that all of you are at the beginning of a wonderful journey. As you start traveling down that road of life, remember this: There are never enough comfort stops. The places you’re going to are never on the map. And once you get that map out, you won’t be able to refold it no matter how smart you are. So forget the map, roll down the windows, and whenever you can, pull over and have a picnic with a pig. And if you can help it, never fly as cargo.”-Kermit

Or when that fails I like this one:

When in doubt, throw Penguins – Jim Henson

One thought on “Thank You Jim Henson

Keep the conversation going!

