Picnic Table Topics To Go

Chicken Hawk gave me a box of Picnic Conversation Topics for my birthday. No it’s not anywhere close to my birthday, but that’s how we roll. We stick gifts in our respective purses and wait for 15 opportune moments to pass before we give each other our gifts! I of course thanked her and said, “Seriously? You think my family EVER runs out of things to talk about?” So when Picnic season starts, I will bring these little gems with me for conversation starters around the fire while we are making s’mores.

Thanks Chicken Hawk!

Meanwhile, I took a peek at these cards.

  1. How much dirt is it okay to eat? Hmm, if it is worms and dirt pudding – all you can eat. If it is dirt from the ground, I choose none, although I have eaten some by accident and lived to talk about it.
  2. How much money would it take for you to eat a worm in your sandwich? Gross, but I have a price. It would have to be enough for me to be debt free for life.
  3. What is your favorite sandwich? Grilled Pear and Brie. Followed closely by grilled peanut butter.
  4. What is the best picnic food? My mom’s rice crispy squares.
  5.  What is the most beautiful park in your area? Emily Murphy
  6. What celebrity would you be least surprised to see to day? Nathan Fillion? Jerome Iginla? Mark Messier?
  7. Where are some interesting places you’ve taken a picnic? Christmas Tree hunting in a lodge pole pine forest. It was -10C.
  8. What sandwich do you like that no one else does? Jam and Cheese – Cuban Style.
  9. Would you rather picnic at the beach or the mountains? Beach in Alberta means stink and algae, I’ll choose Mountains and take my chances with the bears.
  10. What do you ponder while gazing at the clouds? Would you believe World Peace? I didn’t think so. Travel destinations.
  11. What is the most unusual thing you know how to do?

They all left me with a definitive answer, except one. What is the most unusual thing you know how to do? I thought about this for a very long time. I can face paint, make balloon animals, quilt, build stuff, but the MOST unusual? Hmmm

Years ago I was in a relationship with a guy who liked to think he was Grizzly Adams…He was not. He hated spending money on pre-made stuff. The guy made his own wallet, cab for his truck, canoe, boat lift, lathe, and a bazillion other things. Nothing was aesthetically pleasing, they often cost MORE than buying the item in the first place and it was hugely time consuming. The thought of giving the bank a chance to lend him money for a mortgage was inconceivable. He wanted to live mortgage free and build his own house. Sadly, that meant I needed to help.

We bought land, a tractor, a backhoe, a drag-line, logs and 2 chainsaws. All of these items were not brand new, so months were spent working on them to make the usable. It fell upon me to peel the logs for a log home. These logs were 2 feet in diameter. The standard draw knife at LeeValley Tools was too small and my knuckles had no skin left by the end of the day. So, I made myself a draw knife. I took a spring from the old Ford F150 from the back of the property, ground an edge and welded two handles on it. That right, I can weld. It isn’t pretty, but I could do it. I peeled 150 logs all by myself. My draw knife was a heavy but very efficient.

I suppose the answer would be make my own Draw Knife.

There isn’t one thing about that relationship I look back on and fondly remember except it made me strong physically so I could punch him when I left. Not that I did…But I could have and that makes me smile.

3 thoughts on “Picnic Table Topics To Go

  1. Wow. I would have punched him. I’m sure there are other reasons things didn’t work out, but the whole log peeling thing? Yeah. definitely worth a shot to the chops. Happy picnicking!

Keep the conversation going!

