Martha I am NOT

I won Wilton Cookie Press from hanging around Chef’s MidniteChefs blog, facebook page and her twitter @midnitechef . (Chef is a local girl who transplanted to Texas. Her recipes are delicious! How do I know? I have made quite a few!) It arrived in the mail today!

I busted open the package because I was so excited to give it a try! I love baking and am pretty darn good at it! Cooking…not so much in spite of the fact I had a fabulous teacher – my mom – cooking is just not my thing. I think it is important to enjoy what you are doing, it becomes obvious with the result. my cooking won’t kill you, but I’d rather do dishes thanks. When it comes to baking, that is a whole different story. Cookies are my specialty, but pies, tarts, custards, cakes, squares…and anything else you can think of, I am pretty darn good at if I do say so myself. What my Aunty didn’t teach me, I learned from Martha Stewarts baking 101. So when the Cookie Press arrived in the mail, I was pretty cocky. I was damn sure they would be fabulous! I even took pictures to brag blog about it!

I pulled my girl out from her home in the pantry and plugged her in. Creamed the butter and sugar together, then added an egg and vanilla. REAL Vanilla, not artificial stuff, and I go a step further and use Mexican Vanilla. The stuff you bring home from Mexico. Really People, leave the Tequila there, or better yet, drink it. Save room for the vanilla, you will be glad you did!

When I looked at the recipe, I saw it needed 1 1/2 cups of butter. Holy Heart Attack on a Plate Batman! In my head I was thinking a pound and a half…I am glad that didn’t make sense to me and I re-read it. By the time all the rest of the ingredients were added, it smelled like sugar cookies should.

The next part was stuffing the cookie press full of cookie dough…simple enough! Then choosing the end I wanted. I chose a few different ones and changed it out each time I re-filled the press.

I was able to squirt an entire cookie sheet with one fill. The problem was, that cookie press was finicky! Inconsistent pressure made for inconsistent cookies. I HATE THAT! I use a ice cream scoop or a melon baller to make all my cookies the EXACT SAME SIZE. It has long been established that I am OCD about such things. My cookies came out in blobs or squirts missing sections. I finally got the knack of it, then I would change the tip. For every tip, the pressure was different and I needed to start again with the practice….

By the time I was ready for the last fill, I had it down pat. I chose a square pattern that squirted out little balls. This is where I REALLY messed up. The last sheet of cookies are loving refered to as Cookie Niblets. I didn’t put enough pressure on the press to have the cookie stay together. That’s okay, cookie niblets will go good on ice cream or in trail mix…or for midnite munching.

I will have to give this thing another try, possibly use a different recipe to see if that makes a difference. Never fear Martha, your empire is still safe. Meanwhile…I have 7km to do tomorrow to make up for the cookie sampling I did tonight ๐Ÿ™‚

*Editors Note: Fancy speak for did I screw up and now I am fixing it! So after clean up, I discover there is a ratchet that I did not engage…no WONDER it was so hard!!!! Next time…I’ll get it right next time…

8 thoughts on “Martha I am NOT

  1. I’m not much of a baker (or a cook, for that matter), but I do love the sampling! And I think a cookie press might make the process just fiddly enough to hold my interest, if that makes any sense. I’ll have to try it!

  2. The cookies look cute ๐Ÿ™‚ I am looking forward to having access to an indoor track when I join a different gym. I think It will come in REAL handy ๐Ÿ˜‰

    cheers

  3. The other electric one I have takes some gettin used to too, I liked the tube/pushing plate design of the manual one. Nibs, I miss nibs! Niblets reminded me of them, so much better than Twizzlers ๐Ÿ˜› At least there is a stash of Coffee Crisp in the kitchen… mmm.

    I’m glad you like the new toy!

  4. LOVE this post….and you wouldn’t want to be Martha anyways…she might have good looking stuff but she is crazy I think! Your cookie’s are way better than that of MS!! Bring it on…

Keep the conversation going!

