I Scoooooooooooooooooooooooored!

I scored Executive Suite tickets to the Edmonton Oilers vs Philadelphia Flyers. I was invited to a business schmooze by the offspring’s pop, The Hubs. His associates didn’t want to couldn’t go so he hinted to the Sales rep that I needed to go being the hugest Oiler fan in River City. The Sales guy said “Bring her Along!” Yippee Kiaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyy!  I had never sat in an Executive Suite before! I could add this to my 52 new things this year! I have sat in the Skybox, Standing Room, Nose Bleeds, Terrace, Upper Deck, Lower Bowl and Club…but never Executive Suite for an Edmonton Oilers game! Was it as fabulous as the Skybox? Yes and No. I will get to that in a minute, but first the event complete with pics because inquiring Oiler fans want to know. Well, Evil Genius wants to know, so this is for him.

The fancy name plate on the main floor of Rexall Place told me I had arrived.

We walked into the room and were greeted by the sales guys who told us to help ourselves to the unending buffet and bar…. Bar? where?

Telus ordered Wings!

This may be hard for people to believe, but this was my FIRST BEER at a hockey game! I usually drink vodka when I am in the skybox…not that I am there all the time, just once. I am too cheap to spring for beer or hard stuff at Rexall.

The suite was wide but shallow. It had a bar on one side and buffet on the other. The private bathroom is a plus. There were two large screen TVs showing the game inside. The sliding glass doors opened up to two rows of seats surrounded by a rail keeping the riffraff out.

I sat in the front row because I didn’t want to miss the game. I take hockey seriously, unlike the guys who were drinking  working. I was one of 3 women there as dates. The other women were doing their nails… wow… Executive Suite hockey seats and they could care less!

My boys were on tonight! First Hall scores!

My phone told me in case I missed it.

The Eberle scoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooores

My phone confirms what my own eyes witnessed.

The most overpaid captain in the history of the Oilers then gets a penalty shot! Wooooohoooo

Naturally he misses…boooooooooooooooooo not that any of us were surprised. Oh Horcoff…

Bobby Clarke sat in front of me and if you squint you can see the Octane…Canada’s first hockey cheer squad…Really? We needed a Cheer Squad?

Here in Canada we do things Old School and shovel the ice during the whistle stoppages because we can’t afford Zambonis

Psych! We have two Zambonis because we are awesome like that, the shovelers are there because we are fussy about our ice.

The fan tribute at the end. This is my favorite tradition. The Czechs introduced this tradition of standing at centre ice and raising their sticks to the fans. Love it!

By the way, we won! We beat Philly 2-0 That’s right, Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuube got the shutout!

Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuube!!

ok now for the comparison between the Skybox and Executive (Lux) Suites.

Skybox has beside the door parking – We parked 6 blocks away at the Thistle Curling Club for the Lux.

The Skybox has a separate entrance and private elevator to the suite. The Lux requires you walk amongst the riffraff in huge crowds.

The skybox was long and had 6 rows of seats. The Lux was wide and had 2 rows of suites.

Skybox had a better decorator – although each suite is kitted out according to the box owner’s taste. Skybox owner has better taste…and a broken cement truck on the shelf.

You can watch the play develop from the skybox. It gives a fascinating perspective of the game. From the Lux you feel like you are in the middle of the game and I could hear the boys yell at each other and the refs.

Beer came in regular size cans in the Lux, and baby cans in Skybox.

I could cross my legs and lounge in the Lux. It was a tight squeeze for legs up in Skybox…to be fair I am way lighter so my size may have something to do with it.

The Scotia Bank man I sat beside in the Lux – he was across the rail , a neighbor if you will, was pretending to be knowledgable about the team. I challenged him twice…hahaha I won.

The last time I was at a Philly game, I am pretty sure they Flyers were wearing those stupid long pants that made them look like Juniors. It was 25 years ago last light that the Oil won their 3rd Stanley Cup against the Flyers. It was also the FLyers in 1981 that Wayne Gretzky scored 5 goals on to have 50 goals in 39 games. Ahhhh the good old days. I love my boys but I miss my Oilers.

I think I prefered the proximity of the Executive Suite. I love hearing the game as well as seeing the game. My sister was correct in suggesting I would have a hard time slumming it with the peasants next time I get to go to a game again…She is right. I need to schmooze more with those sales guys and drum up some business for them at work.

Have a great weekend and keep your stick on the ice!

13 thoughts on “I Scoooooooooooooooooooooooored!

  1. December 7, 2003 Santa actually PAID you to face paint at the Oilers Christmas party. Don’t think it was a hard sell when I asked you.

    1. Nope! It remains THE BEST GIG I ever did! I walked up to the players bench and Kevin Lowe shook my hand and introduced himself like I had no idea who he was…ya right. He scored the very first Oiler goal ever. My tongue wouldnt work and all I could say was blamumdamsburf. I remember painting little Kegan Lowe…Who is now a star defensman on the Oil Kings. Joan and I walked out to Center Ice after the team went into the club for the party. We just stood there and were in awe. On the players bench we saw Gretzky’s name etched into the metal. It was Georges Laroques Birthday and he was super shy….ahhhhhhhhh great memories 😀 Best gift ever Santa!!!

  2. Hockey is a nice thing to read about on a 36 degree day with a broken A/C and an inside temperature only a few degrees lower. And that Lux box looks like an excellent place to watch Hockey.

    Based on my whole 2 live game experiences, if the seats were equal in all other ways I would prefer lower down. Although if I could drag that Skybox around with me to watch the cricket or footy I would. Even with the crazy expensive mini drinks.

    Of course if I had to pay to go see a game myself, rather than relying on the luck of my cousin or those club seats courtesy of Dad’s workplace, I would end up in the nosebleed section, not near the glass.

    I have had a similar sort of experience down here with the Members section of the MCG, which is quite a big deal down here. To become a Member, normally, involves a 20 year spell on the waiting list. It is all unallocated seating in there, so the bloke who invited Rosie and I along picked where we all sat. Unknown to me until just before the match, this was right next to where the players walk out onto the ground. Not on a special blocked off walkway or anything (like the Club section of the Coliseum), but on the same aisle you use to reach the seats. Good job there is plenty of legroom, as otherwise I might have tripped up Ponting or Clarke on the way out to bat by leaving my legs out in the aisle for some space. Which would have been bad. Dispite the stuff you probably heard me yelling whenever I checked the Test scores while I was up there last summer/winter.
    Anyway, a totally different world in the Members compared with the rest of the MCG. Which is a different world again compared with Bay 13 (which was during a high school excursion!!!).

    1. The good news is Pre-season starts in September, then regular season in October. That goes until April. Then playoffs are until June. The draft is in July and training camp it August. Then the cycle repeats! I loves my hockey so chances are when you come here, there will be a game or practice some where 😀

Keep the conversation going!

