Ed’s FAQ – the finsihed version

I get lots of email to my edmtourist@gmail.com email. Most are questions but some are lectures. Like…why would I even THINK about getting a tattoo? Or my personal favorite… WHAT on EARTH was I thinking when I pierced my own ears. For the record, my ears are perfectly healed now! I saved myself $80 and the best part? my son hates my double piercing. He doesn’t understand why I would do that to my body. That is hilarious to me. Isn’t it suppose to be reverse? I am suppose to hate his piercings!

I was recently tagged by Life and Other Misadventures and I thought instead of playing by the rules, I would just answer the questions because inquiring minds want to know! As well I thought I would throw in the other questions I get asked most frequently.

1. What things do you like to do to unwind when you’re stressed out?

A HOT bubble bath, dark candle lit room and a fantasy.

2. What was your earliest memory?

I was 2 or just 3 and it was dark. We were moving into our first townhouse out of an apartment. I was playing in the sand beside the porch when my mom called me in for bed. I was sure the shovel and ice-cube tray I was playing with got cemented over during the next few days when the concrete guys came to pour the patio because i remember leaving them in the sand and never saw them again.

3. What was the best Halloween costume you ever wore?

The best one was the Pepsi Challenge. I made 2 pop cans from papier mache. I even wrote the ingredients on the side in French and English. I recreated the bar codes. It was fabulous. I was Coke and Idiot Stick was Pepsi. My favorite costume was last year when I went as Elly from Up. I had my hair in pigtales, wore a cape and rubber boots. I even had the grape soda pin. I love Elly – she was me.

4. What’s on your “bucket list?”

I have created a list here After looking at it again, I will accomplish most of it by spending some serious vacation time in New York. I need to plan that soon. That will be the next trip after Eastern Europe next summer.

5. What’s the worst job you ever had?

I cleaned houses one summer. Stay in School kids!

6. If you could change one thing about life, what would it be?

About life? or my life? I would end poverty and grant all humans common sense. Now my life? I would use the way back machine and not date a ski patroller. My life would be completely different.

7. What’s your favorite thing to eat when you cook for yourself (or snack you eat over the sink when no one’s around)?

melted cheese on anything. Damn I love melting cheese. The smell, the texture the taste! I dislike the calorie count so it rarely enters my mouth anymore.

8. What’s your biggest motivation for getting up in the morning?

I had this conversation with colleagues on Thursday. I work  in nonprofit, so I am NOT motivated my money. I am working my butt off to finish my degree so I no longer will work in the classroom, because I am SO DONE in the classroom. I have reached burnout on a tsunami level. I get out of bed everyday because of RESPONSIBILITY. I am responsible to my children. To the families i work with and to the team I work with . If I didn’t feel responsible, I would be living in central park right now or on some beach somewhere. I would be homeless and have no responsibilities at all. I am smart enough not to be homeless in Edmonton. It is TOO FREAKING COLD!

9. What song describes you?

Blackbird

10. What was your favorite book as a child?

Picture book was Mike Mulligan and Maryann, Novel was and is Anne of Avonlea. My Great Grandmother gave me all of L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables books. Every Christmas and birthday i got another one to add to the series. She wanted me to know what Island life was like for her as a girl. I loved those stories and still go back and read them. Avonlea is still my most favorite.

11. If you knew you would be stranded on a desert island for several years and you could only listen to music you’d brought with you, which five albums would you put in your suitcase?

Only 5? Booooo

1. Dean Martin Live in Las Vegas

2. Adele 21

3. Billy Joel’s Greatest Hits Vol. 1

4. Elton John’s Yellow Brick Road

5. Celloitis Himmelblau

12. What book did you read had the most profound impact on you and why?

Charlotte’s Web. My dad made me read it when I was in grade 4. It was the first novel I read cover to cover on my own, one chapter at a time before bed. It transported my imagination into a barn yard and I loved Wilbur and Templeton. It showed me where books could take me if I let them. Since them I have become an avid reader. I have raised readers and at dinner tonight, we (my children and I) sat around the table discussing great reads with my father. I love that my children can hold conversation about great authors.
13. What is the most traumatic incident you have witnessed and do you think it had a lasting impact on you?

I was out walking at Seba Beach one winter night with my fella. We heard 2 skidoos racing across the frozen lake. then we heard a crash and silence. We ran to the main pier to discover two men laying in blood puddles on the white snow. We were first on the scene. I ran to get help and have people call the emergency number. Ran back to the pier. We checked the pulses of the two men. One fellow was talkative while the other was not. We removed the helmet of the silent guy to give him CPR. The helmet was the only thing keeping his brains contain. That was the first time I saw a dead man.

14.Have you lived anywhere other than Edmonton?

Yes. I lived in Canada’s Arctic when I was young. it was like living on another planet or in another country because it was so different from any place I had ever been. In fact, to this day, I have never been anywhere that equalled the amazing sites and the horrible living conditions. It is horrific that people live like that in Canada.

15.What was your first car?

I drove a mustard yellow 1972 Datsun B210. The first car I owned was a 1989 Pontiac FireFly.

16.What food is unique to Canada?

hmmmm…. Moose Nose Soup? Not that I have ever eaten it. My brother complains about it regularly.

17.How long is winter in Edmonton?

It starts in October and ends in May. Yes I am stupid for living here. However, we thoroughly enjoy our summers!!

18.How cold does it get in the winter?

The coldest it can get is around -40C that is the same as -40F (Hi Robbie!) a new friend from Boston shared that trivia bit with me. If it is windy than it feels like -50C. AND THAT SUCKS DONKEY BALLS!
19.What sound do you hear that always brings a smile to your lips?

The sound of a little kid having a hysterical laughing fit. Best sound ever!

9 thoughts on “Ed’s FAQ – the finsihed version

  1. I remember my mom reading Charlotte’s Web to us, even though by the time I was 9 I was an avid reader in my own right. She was reading it more for my little sisters, but I couldn’t resist, I’d crawl in her bed every night and listen to it, chapter by chapter… how I miss that side of my mother….

    1. The plan so far (with over a year to keep planning and changing!) is to arrive in Frankfurt, rent a caravan and head to Poland. The plan is to work our way south via Hungary, Czech Republic (LOVED your Prauge post!) Croatia, the head over to Italy, Austria, Litchenstien, Switzerland and back to Germany. Two years ago we went to France, Belgium, Holland and Germany. Having been to western Europe a few times as well as the UK, I am enchanted by the history and beauty of Eastern Europe.
      I am not the Edmontonian who disires endless trips to Mexico as all my friends love to do. Europe always calls to me 🙂

  2. Moose nose soup? Is this some kind of sick joke you’re perpetrating?!

    I loved Charlotte’s Web as a kid. It was one of a handful of books responsible for instilling in me a deep love of reading. Others include The Hobbit, How To Eat Fried Worms, the Encyclopedia Brown series, and The Lemonade Trick series.

    1. I wish I was. my SIL is Cree and it is a delicacy at family celebrations 😦

      I never heard of the Lemonade Trick! I also liked the Ralph Mouse series! Ever read Watership Down? I liked it as much as the Hobbit!

Keep the conversation going!

