Sunday is for Pancakes

You know that feeling when you are doing a regular, not out of the ordinary chore and you are suddenly transported by memory to another place in time? Is it just me this happens to? I highly doubt that, liars…

Today is Pancake Day! Yes I know its lent but I didn’t give up eggs and dairy, just wine and turtles. Turtles have been a challenge but the wine part is going… well lets just it’s going. Easter Sunday I am going to buy a lovely bottle of red to enjoy with my meal…enough said. Anyway, it’s Pancake Day! We have a large electic griddle like my GrandmaE had. It was either the golden brown of the flapjacks or the smell that brought me back to when I was little.

My GrandmaE is about to turn 90. Her surprise birthday party is coming up, shhhhhhhhhhhh don’t tell her. Her mom lived with her when I was little. To distinguish them I called her Big Grandma and Little Gram. Well, Big Grandma has shrunk to the size of a kittle and I could easily carry her around in my pocket. Now she is know as tiny Great Grandma to my kids. They are fortunate enough to have known their great grandparents. Alas, they only have 2 great grandmas now.

When I was small, my brother and I would sleep over at Big Grandma’s house. We would sleep on the sofa or bunk with our aunt and uncle. We would get up Sunday morning and dress for church. After church, grandpa would drive us downtown for Sunday Treat. Now these were the Grandparents who would take us to Dairy Queen in our Jammies with my parents in tow on Friday nights. THE only day my dad took off from University Studying. Sunday mornings were all about The Chateau Lacombe. It was a fancy hotel restaurant that overlooked the river valley. It was not a family restaurant. Kids needed to be “Good as Gold” and have their best manners. For my brother, this was a huge challenge because he had extreme wiggles. My Grandma always said “busy”. Brother is a busy boy. A very kind way of saying mischief needed to be managed. 

As an adult, I look back and think it was an odd place to take us, but I understand Grandpa took us there for Grandma. She loved that place. they were regulars and would show us off to the staff. We always sat by the window and had THIS ViewThis is what kept the brother occupied. He would look for coyotes and eagles, of course he would see all kinds of wild life with his own eagle eyes. Grandpa would order pancakes and juice for us. I secretly wanted French Toast or waffles but never said anything. Best behaviour meant not contradicting my grandfather.

Today I love pancakes. Somedays more than others. Rarely I wish for french toast and waffles, mostly because I don’t want the mess it creates. Maple syrup is my favorite topping. The REAL stuff…not that synthetic cheap stuff that is too sweet. I like the stuff from Quebec that is boiled down maple sap during sugaring season. That and a cup of coffee. The perfect way to start my Sunday…in my Jammies.

Happy Birthday Grandma!

12 thoughts on “Sunday is for Pancakes

  1. Reblogged this on catholicboyrichard and commented:
    Next Sunday morning, at the Cathedral of St Paul in St Paul, MN (my parish) we will be having our annual St Patrick’s Pancake Breakfast…I cannot help but hope that each reader can somehow get there, even if it is from Canada to the USA (MN borders Canada anyway!).

    But whether you can or not, this is one of the nicest Sunday articles I have seen in a long time. Pancakes were also what we annually made at the community Supper to raise money for band each year when I was growing up. And those pancakes, as well as the Cathedral ones, were and are the best ever made somehow. In my hometown of Princeton,MN it brought pretty much the entire town out, and in both cases you could have all you wanted. Somehow I think the writer’s “big Grandma E” is someone that most of us had, in some form or another, in our lives. It isn’t really about the pancakes (well partly it is!) but the memories. Enjoy this nice post.

  2. My brother and I had similar accomodations at Grandma K’s, usually the couch. Neither of us wanted to sleep in the basement on the pile of mattresses next to the organ who lost half her notes. It was scary and cold down there. Grandma K was a toast and tea person, I still eat how she did at times just for the memories. And your photo of the valley made my heart flutter and sink, I guess I miss home more than I realized.

      1. Well I wanted to be sure you get the credit!!! You are going viral and its all because of pancakes!!! They did this two weeks in a row. They ignore my own writings anymore lol. Just out of curiosity are you Catholic? I don’t even know hehe…in any case its YOUR article and it went to the National newsrag of EWTN, that is pretty impressive!

Keep the conversation going!

