50/50.Me: Extremly Loud and Incredibly Close

Cover of "Extremely Loud and Incredibly C...

Cover of Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

This week in an effort to participate in the 50/50 me project, I read one book and watched 3 movies. I have a sneaky feeling I will finish the movie portion long before the books.

The Book

I read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer. I think I liked it. I wanted to read it and finish it, so it had me interested. I did find the story line confusing. I had hoped the movie would provide more clarity, I have never seen it but a friend has and she responded with “no, the movie is confusing too” Huh…

The book switched voices as you progressed. Each Chapter was a different voice. Once I figured out WHO and WHEN this was happening, it made perfect sense. I am not one to read chapter titles, but clearly this would have been a huge benefit on my part.

The main Character is Oskar. His father was in one of the World Trade Towers on September 11 – THAT DAY, and of coursed died. Oskar’s Dad Thomas would often leave clues for Oskar to solve. It was a game they always played. The ultimate game was when Oskar discovered a key that belonged to his father. But what was the key for?

I found myself understanding the way Oskar thinks. He can’t let things rest and needs to know WHY. That is me. I am never satisfied until I know all the details. Learning to live with unanswered questions is incredibly difficult, and friendships have been strained because of this. Perhaps this is why I liked reading about Oskar. I could related to him. The other fascinating part for me was this story took you through all 5 boroughs in New York with the story of the 6th one. I loved the backdrop. It had me at Central Park, and I went from there. The story itself encompasses 5 family members and how they deal with grief. This fascinated me and gave a great insight to the way people handle events differently. A great lesson in empathy.

The Movie

The Iron Lady (film)

The Iron Lady (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I watched 3 movies this week, Mirror Mirror – funny! New Years Eve – good! The Iron Lady – interesting!

Of the 3 I think I prefered the iron Lady the best. Meryl Streep was fantastic! I never thought about her as an actress, to me she was Margaret Thatcher. I hadn’t realized all the history that surrounded Thatcher and her rise to Prime Minister. She was often the only female in the House. I have a feeling it glamorize her family life and failed to show the heart ache of her children and husband. None the less, it was enjoyable.

Clearly I need to work on my skills as a reviewer, I’m sure it will progress.

This week i have started Peony in Love by Lisa See. I think it is a chick book. I started Hunger Games and just couldn’t keep my head in it. The gals at work rave about Lisa See so I will give it a try. As for the movie, I am planing on watching Hugo. My daughter raves about it, so I thought it might be a good family night movie.

What are you reading? Seen any good movies lately?

 

About The Edmonton Tourist

One day I woke up and was decidedly unhappy about the way my life was heading. I decided I needed a change. When I travel I often take new risks, be flexible and am generally adventurous. So, I decided that I need to start being a Tourist in my Own life and not just on vacation. I am many things but the new role for me is Tourist.

6 thoughts on “50/50.Me: Extremly Loud and Incredibly Close

  1. I’ve had that book since it was released….read about 50 pages and some other shiny book took my attention. When I heard the movie was going to be released, I dug it out and tried a few more pages. I just can’t concentrate! But now that you’ve read it, I must too as I’m a “why” person,which is a big surprise to you right? Even the latest personality profiling team building session pegged me at green (not True Colours). Basically we greens don’t follow without details – again BIG SURPRISE THERE! BTW – Hunger Games didn’t get me until the Arena – stick with it! I’m almost finished the third book now.

    • That is how I feel about Hunger Games, it reminds me too much of City of Embers. I will plod through it. I read A Lover’s Dictonary last night. Super quick read with lovely language. epubbud has it. I enjoyed. It was like a sorbet between meals. I am looking for New York by Rutherford, do you have it? Next I am reading When god was a rabbit. Peony in Love is too girly for me right now, so I shelved it.

      I can’t say stick with Incredilby loud, but after thinking more about it, I decided that I did indeed like it :)

  2. I’ve knocked out a few books the last few days but I’ve got one I’m reviewing for a publisher that I am having a hard time getting through. It’s a good reminder to not go for that genre again, unless it’s a really skinny book. I usually don’t do movies, unless they are musicals. Strange, I know…… :lol:

  3. I read The Hunger Games. Easy to read and it gets better as you go. Haven’t seen the movie yet but I will. I’m looking for books 2 and 3 in this series now.

    I’ve been struggling to read The Man Who Ate Everything by Jeffery Steingarten, I can’t keep his voice out of my head while reading (he frequently judges on Iron Chef America). I have more fun reading Matha Stewart cookbooks.

    I just watched Contagion. If you’ve seen the trailers, you’ve pretty well seen the movie, but it’s worth watching Matt Damon :) Speaking of Matt, I still have to see We Bought A Zoo!

    The Help (K. Stockett) novel was better than the film, but similar to Incredibly Close the voice changes throughout the book. Movie doesn’t get into as much detail from the maid perspectives. Book is 10 times better :P

    I’ve got The Hobbit, Cinderella Ate My Daughter, and Pirates (Costco book sale?) in my stack awaiting my tired eyes. Plus the Hunger Games 2,3 once I find them…

Keep the conversation going!

