So you want to be a Zombie…

The thought has never crossed my mind before. Never once have I thought it would be swell to be a Zombie.I was the person yelling at the screen “DON’T OPEN THE DOOR!” Did those actors ever listen to me? No.

Then I got a text.

It was from new friend I met on a Board of Directors I sit on. I offered to help with stuff that needs done for a parade we are going to be in and out of the blue she texts…. So, you want to come to Zombie class tonight?

Gone are the days when my automatic answer is no. So I said sure! Let this day go down in history. I signed up for Zombie class.

I always had a secret fantasy to dance and sing on Broadway. Here I was in a sweaty hot old gym with hardwood floors and reflective windows that could be a mirror if I imagined it to be. I was living the dream….

I was nervous, having never been a Zombie before and I was in a room with professional zombies. I listened carefully to my instructions. Before I knew it, I was doing the first 4 sequences to Michael Jackson’s Thriller. I am not a Jackson esq. dancer by any means, but I can see me rockin’ it out like Jen Garner in 13 Going on 30. I could hear the music in my head and count the steps off to myself. Here is a clip of us. I am the one in the fabulous striped dress

Okay so maybe I just feel like that when I dance. But I likely look like this:

 

We have a 6 week deadline. The purpose is to be a Zombie Thiller Dancer for the Kaleido 2012 Family Arts Festival. Think of it as Flash Mob Zombie.

I think every single one of my friends should come. Why? It is more fun then I thought it would be. It is open to anyone who wants to give it a try. Apparently being coordinated isn’t very zombie-like so mistakes are better. Practices are 1 hour twice a week, email me for details.

Seriously, what else you got going on this summer that you can’t be a Zombie for the Kaleido Festival? It will be fun, I dare you. If you aren’t going to join me, buy a boat.

Zombies can’t swim…but I can Muaaahahahahahaha

3 thoughts on “So you want to be a Zombie…

Keep the conversation going!

