My Mom is a Jerk

not really…

I am just sad.

I suppose I should explain how I came to this conclusion.

My mom has always held onto the dream of living in Europe. This year, my mom and dad sold up the house, ditched all their belongings and ran away to Europe. Now I suppose it isn’t unusual for retired folk to sell their home and live in a RV and travel North America. But you see, my parents aren’t really camping people. Mom is more of a rent a flat and assimilate with the culture kind of gal. Her idea of 5 star living is packing her electric frying pan and cooking eggs in the hotel.

She loves to cook.

She hates paying someone for delicious food.

I am not jealous of my parents, in fact I am so happy for them! So much so that I have started a travel blog to record their amazing 5 year adventure. Mom sends me photos and travel entries and I post them here:

Postcards From Everywhere

Feel free to follow the journey. Their life is somewhat of a comedy adventure. It never fails that something strange and odd will happen. Their very first day – it began…but I will let you read for yourself.

As I said, I am not jealous, I am sad for me. For the past 14 years I lived less than 2 blocks away from my mom. My kids would pop by when ever they missed her (daily). They would stop by to drink milkshakes with grandpa. Eat food at grandma’s that mom wouldn’t buy at home. Use the basement as a clubhouse or hangout with all their cousins. Walking over Christmas eve with the snow falling over head, or running past in the morning and smelling coffee coming from the kitchen. Even my dog Cap loved to visit and get a super duper belly scratch from his grandpa.

I will miss all of that.

When they left last week, I cried like they died. My kids were worried about me. My son asked if I was okay? No I am not okay! My mommy just ran away!!

I can only imagine the tears when Chatterbox decides to move to Vancouver in 2 years, or boy heading off for JPL in California one  day. Just shoot me now and get it over with.

I was sad for a long while then I got this in my email:

The Brandenburg Gate

IMG_7346

 

So I sent her MY view:

IMG_7343

Did I mention that my mom is a jerk?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “My Mom is a Jerk

  1. Aw Roobyn, this one brought tears to my eyes! Your mom IS a jerk! But how amazing it is to read about such close ties with your parents…don’t worry, just more reason to take road trips to Europe.

  2. Funny, when my parents moved up here 12 years ago I was a little uncomfortable with the idea. I considered the PNW my home and wasn’t sure how it would feel living a few minutes away from them after being two states away for 8 years. Turns out it was a great move, and I can’t imagine them living anywhere else. So, I feel your pain…I’d feel like my folks were jerks if they moved to Europe, too!

    But good for yours. I’m checking out the new blog.

Keep the conversation going!

