It’s a HOT ONE

I have a little Santana playing in the background. For the record, the sexy piece of music out there. Meanwhile Edmonton is roasting hot. Feels like 40C because of humidity. Seriously? I’ll take it because I am homesick for my Hawaiian vacation. My family went off to celebrate the last of the great adventures with the kiddos ( I doubt it but it IS the last time I am footing the bill). We celebrated graduations and life progressing. Surviving difficult moments and escaped from Edmonton’s frigid weather of 30C. At Ko Olina on Oahu, temps reached +40C. It was fabulous with the trade winds blowing. I never wanted to leave, but my family dragged me kicking and screaming on the plane. I am still not speaking to them.

Everything about this vacation was charmed, from running into my brides made at the WestJet counter (resulted in being upgraded to PLUS) to being upgrade to a villa at Aulani (where we stayed on the Island).

Of course we stayed at a Disney Resort…hello – its me!

Disney has a special way with details and customer service. At night time the trees twinkle with fairy dust (a magic trick by hanging crystals in trees and focusing spotlights on them) The sidewalks light up like EPCOT, the theme music in the background is always perfect but the best thing they could contrail was this:

IMG_7093

Every night that was the view from the beach.

I discovered I am impervious to sunscreen. With the sun directly overhead, this alabaster Canuck found the intensity too much. That didn’t stop me from sitting on the beach – in the shade – covered in 90 spf – under a towel. yet I still looked like this:

IMG_7160

 

Most of all this trip was filled with Volcano climbing, snorkelling, and site seeing with the occasional indulgent into racing and character greetings.

IMG_7056 IMG_7153 IMG_7121

I had the chance to experience things I had not done before, like wade into the ocean. I had always feared the sea, the waves being so powerful and overwhelming. I concurred that feeling this time and wished I could full on swim. Sadly, my surgery prevented me from full submersion.

IMG_7295

I went waist deep…not just ankle deep.

The draw back of this vacation, and perhaps it’s just me, but I found the food terrible. I have no idea why people rave about the food, perhaps dry tasteless food is awesome for them. But I couldn’t argue with the spectacular view nor the beverages.

IMG_7122 IMG_7127 IMG_7138 IMG_7139 IMG_7161 IMG_7162 IMG_7172

 

The highlight for me was being there with my ohana, a close second was doing NOTHING and tell ohana to ‘take off eh’ when they would ask things of me. I was selfish and self indulgent. This was the first mom trip for me where I behaved like this. I didn’t care who ate, when they ate, what they did or whether there were entertained. I still don’t know if they had a great time because I didn’t ask. Perhaps this me letting them grow up or perhaps its me taking responsibility of my self. Either way, BEST VACATION EVER.

3 thoughts on “It’s a HOT ONE

Keep the conversation going!

