500 miles for SMA: Day 4 – Lessons Learned

This is something Joe published over on 500 Miles for SMA. How the man can still think a coherent thought is beyond me. He feels pressure from everyone. Pressure to blog, pressure to post photos, pressure to run every second. I try to get him to get out of the game at dinner time and we talk about stuff that isn’t charity or run related. The mental break is important. We came back, bid good night until 6:00 AM tomorrow and I find him publishing blogs at 9:30 PM.

He needs sleep in the worst way.

This is how far he has come:

4days

When we drove to the start line this morning he couldn’t believe how far he ran. These are his words:

500 MILES FOR SMA – LESSONS LEARNED FROM DAYS ONE THROUGH FOUR…

So I am four days in to this long distance run, and the education I’ve gotten thus far is truly fascinating.

Day 1: The hills were a killer from the Presidio to my stopping point south of Daly City.  You’ve heard me say this a bunch of times: hills are stupid.  But…not training on them is stupider.  That’s right – I used a word that isn’t even a real word in order to get the idea across.  Lesson learned: don’t just recommend hill repeats to other people – actually step up the hill work yourself.  Because I did not do enough training on hills, these hills did a number on me both physically and mentally.

Day 2: I made it south of Half Moon Bay.  Today was a trial because of logistics.  Detours and mishaps galore.  Lesson learned: be ready to accept whatever the day has in store for you.  Roll with the punches.  Take those little mishaps and translate them into necessary obstacles that stand between you and your goal.

Day 3: I made it to Watsonville.  Safety was the concept of the day.  I found the hood of a Toyota 4×4 at one point (no harm done – I got lucky), and had to dive into piles of dirt and high grass more than once whilst running on busy roadways – even though I was safely in designated bike lanes at the time.  There were several points where, based on the traffic volume, I made the decision to not run sections of the pre-plotted course.  I had to make this call, because the first key to accomplishing this long distance effort is a requirement to FINISH the event.  Experiences on day three had me a bit gun shy on Day 4.

Day4: I was reminded of a very important concept today – just because a day starts off FUBAR, does not mean it needs to stay that way.  I had a goal of arriving in Monterey, and I hit it.  Have a goal, be able to visualize it, and let it be a carrot that hangs in front of you throughout the day.  You need a finish line each day – and that goes for any task you are looking to achieve over a duration of time.

I’ll try to provide additional details as we go.  I’ve been a bit fried from the effort thus far – but I feel a second wind coming.

I want to again express my sincere thanks to everyone following this effort, as well as everyone who donated thus far.  This run means a lot to me, as both of my brothers were claimed by SMA type I.  It’s something I spend time thinking about each morning that I lace up my running shoes during this event.

And to all of you competing this weekend in any event: good hunting.

11873423_1126792197349336_7239009863730229240_n 11880539_1126873384007884_6413994056180685879_n

Keep the conversation going!

