Edmonton Tourist: The Music Man

I love community Theatre. Any time you can support activities that involve creativity, kindness and fun, I think you should do it. Now, not all community theatre is good. Some is actually very terrible. But for the most part, these are people who have day jobs and want a forum for their creative outlet. Not everyone needs to have a career in the arts but arts as a hobby is what helps fulfill people and make their day brighter. I am for that. So I like to support it, and its fun for me….usually…

IMG_6092
Photo by the Edmonton Tourist
Thursday night I had the pleasure for going to the Trinity Players rendition of The Music Man. I brought my dad because it is his all time favourite musical. It is essentially the feel good story of the power of positive thought. If you think you can succeed, you will.

A friend of mine Tim Lo, who is the company’s Assistant Director, Barbershop Quartet member and all-round good guy, suggested I come see the show. I had never been to a production of the Trinity Players before and was hooked when he told me it was The Music Man. My dad often showed us the movie as kids and on car trips we sang the complicated musical pieces for pure entertainment. Now that I am an adult, I realize just how complicated these are. Think of it as the ground roots for rap – early Hamilton? Well…Not quite but fun to listen to!

The stage is at the Trinity Church 10037 84 Ave, Edmonton. The seats were less than comfortable being wooden pews, but had a licensed intermission in the basement and there was something strangely naughty about drinking beer in the sanctuary, that part was fun too. I am not sure where the actors come from or how they came to be part of the theatre troupe, but I do know there were auditions in September, so its not a group of pals saying “You be him, You be her and I’ll sew stuff” It might be that way actually, but it didn’t feel that way.

The Music Man was preformed in an over-the-top fun and kitschy way. But it worked and I sat with a smile on my face for most of the evening. Harold Hill played by Kyle Sanscartier, was slick and smarmy, the way Harold Hill should be played. His character development evolved into a guy with a conscience. I wanted him to be Robert Preston who portrayed him in the film, but as soon as the opening scene was done, this guy was Harold Hill to me. He masterfully pulled off Ya Got Trouble and 76 Trombones, his rendition had me singing in my seat. The show needed a strong lead because Marian Paroo played by Christina O’Dell would have carried the show off on her own without that balance. Her skill and musical talent had won our hearts from the first moment she sang on stage. My dad remarked that he enjoyed her rendition far more than than that Shirley Partridge, or Shirley Jones who portrayed Marian the Librarian in the Movie version. The two worked beautifully together although lacked real heat during the love scene, but that kept it family friendly.

17359352_1263457897103523_226813373494514195_o
Photo by @Nancpricephotography
There were hidden gems throughout the show, such as the hen party singing Pick-a-little/Talk-a-Little/Goodnight and the Wells Fargo Wagon, I won’t divulge any spoilers, but that was my favourite scene of the night. The Barbershop Quartet gets a big shout out too because Barbershop makes everything more fun and the scene they sang with Christina O’Dell was complicated and their skill made it so fantastic. Hats off to Producer/Director Morgan Kunitz who brought together this community theatre and created something fun and enjoyable.

IMG_6095
Photo by The Edmonton Tourist
Tickets are available at the door and eventbrite.com for tonight’s show and tomorrow night. This production was great enough for me to become a regular patron of the Trinity Players. Next week I will be at Jesus Christ Superstar because I bet they will create a fantastic version.

Go give them watch.

Photo Credit Nance Price @nancpricephotography

Trinity Church 10037 84 Ave, Edmonton

March 23-26, 2017 @ 7:30 PM
March 25, 2017 @ 2:00 PM
$18 Holy Trinity Edmonton

Keep the conversation going!

