Breakfast at Tiffany’s

I woke up this morning and slowly cracked open my eyes, then a huge grin spread across my face. It wasn’t a dream after all. The first thing I saw when I opened my eyes was the new love of my life.

Her name is Tiffany.

She is silver and shiny and she is aaaaaaaall mine.

This past weekend I was lucky enough to be able to go on an all girls weekend to Calgary with Polly Pocket, her daughter Crash, and my lovely Chatterbox. We had these plans in the works for a long time, ever since we discovered there was a Coach factory store down in Calgary. I know what you are thinking, a Coach Factory store? That is too good to be true! Wait until you hear THAT story tomorrow…

Today’s story is about a dream come true. I know it seems shallow, desiring something from Tiffany’s so desperately. But it isn’t the contents of the blue box so much as what it represents.

We woke up around 9 Sunday morning and the girls went for a last trip on the water slides while we packed a TON of shopping packages up. We spend a full day shopping at Crossiron Mills. But today was about Tiffany & Co. The first stop was Tim Horton’s so we could eat breakfast at Tiffany’s Canadian style! Coffee and a danish to go, a little reminiscent of Holly Golightly! Then we drove south, towards the Chinook Center and all it’s glories.

As we neared the mall I started to hyperventlate a smidge. I had the same feeling I get when I am at Disneyland for rope drop. We parked and made our way in. When I saw the ropes outside the store and the classic windows, I started to shake. I can’t describe the feeling I felt. It was a dream come true. I saved for a very long time for this moment. This moment was about setting goals, achieving them, reaching for something I thought was unattainable, and then holding it my hand. A year ago I applied for University, never really believing I was smart or or good enough. That was the beginning to learning a whole pile of new stuff about me. I learned what I was made of, I learned what I was capable of and I learned failure happens. It isn’t about failing, it is about taking the learning lesson from it and applying it to the rest of your life. If you can do that, it isn’t a failure after all.

So here I was. Whipping out my danish, which I never ate, it was just for effect. My coffee in my other had and I stood in front of the window, smiling like a kid at Christmas. I posed for pictures, gulped my coffee, took a deep breath and entered.

I was greeted at the door by security, bidding me good morning. I was dazzled by the sparkling diamonds that proved to me no picture on earth can do these sparkling beauty’s justice. I lingered at the princess showcase, and thought wistfully of conversations past. I reminisced about all the events that flooded through my memory banks. This showcase holds some very special memories that I will never let go of. In fact, it brings hope for the future. I knew I needed to keep moving forward, as much as I wanted a princess cut diamond on my finger, it was not for me today. I moved forward into the back of the store. The store itself was shaped like the infinity symbol, it made it seem like everything went on forever. I found the keys and sighed softly. I telepathically told those keys I will be back for you once I graduate.

As I was drooling over the keys, a sales person came up to me and inquired if I needed help. My instinct was to say no. But the I remembered that I earned this. I worked damn hard this year. I saved for this. So I spoke up and said, yes I am looking for a Return to Tiffany heart tag key pendant. She replied the Return to Tiffany items are this way. I followed her eagerly.

She unlocked the showcase and pulled the pendant from the case, she explained it came on a 16″ chain and was about $120-$150, but she needed to check the skew because NOTHING had a price on it. I corrected her and said, it should be $180. I received a smile and was told she loves it when people research. That is me all over. I do nothing without planning. I told her I would take it and now we needed to shop for my Chatterbox.

I took a page right out of Breakfast at Tiffany’s and told her what our price range was for Chatterbox. Chatterbox had come down with a cold before we came and was holding her hand to her nose in a discreet way. Chatterbox could not express what she wanted other than needing a tissue. So the lucky dog was shown the way to the rest room. Being a girl after my own heart, she took pictures! Oh Chatterbox, you are the best!!

While she was doing a photo shoot in the restroom, I explained that Chatterbox loved charms, so off we went went to look at charms in her price range.

My daughter worked harder than anyone else I know this year. She raised her marks up to honours, she set and achieved goals and quite frankly, I couldn’t be prouder of her. So I topped up her savings to allow her to buy her very first Tiffany’s. A Tiffany Notes Heart pendant was chosen. I gave her my 16″ chain and bought myself a 20″ chain. The sales gal placed it around my daughters neck and I took the picture. Her first Tiffany’s.

Next was the big wrapping production. Out came two blue boxes, two lengths of ribbon and two pieces of tissue. I watched carefully as she tied the ribbon in that special way. We each received our own package. We were Tiffany virgins no more. The pride I felt at that moment was amazing. I achieved my first major goal and rewarded myself.

I will never let myself slip back into the old me again. The new me suits me.

7 thoughts on “Breakfast at Tiffany’s

  1. In the photo of you with the Tiffany necklace you need only a long cigarette holder to out-do Ms Holly Golightly to me.

    I love the movie, the character that Audrey Hepburn played, and you, one of my coolest nieces/nephews.

  2. This makes me think of the Deep Blue Something song, “Breakfast At Tiffany’s.” Other than that, all I can say is, you’re such a girl! But I’m glad you realized your dream come true. You DID achieve a goal, and that’s what matters most!

Keep the conversation going!